We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Perfect place (and location) for either seeing the sights of Key West or just staying in the hotel and relaxing. The suites are roomy and comfortable, providing a 'great room" area large enough to host guests, while allowing for privacy with the two separate bedrooms. The kitchen has everything needed to make a meal, or host a party. The staff was courteous and attentive. And I really liked the pool area - with the limited number of rooms in the inn, it was never really crowded. I'd recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    131
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
350
316
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We loved everything about this beautiful property! We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who made us feel instantly welcome. our rooms were upscale and comfortable, with caring extras like muffins every morning and ice cream treats and chocolates every evening. the free fruit smoothies by the pool were another special treat that let you know the people at Santa Maria care about making you feel special. the location, the accommodations, the warm and welcoming staff, the beautiful landscaping - we will make Santa Maria our place to stay in Key West, and highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Yes, rats. Or at least one that we saw...on multiple nights. Told the management and they said "sorry" but nothing was done about it. Talk about creepy! Yes the suite was nice but EXTREMELY overpriced for the location of the hotel. Can't see the ocean from the hotel and the walk to Duval was so long we didn't make it there very much. No, don't waste your time here and I have no idea how they rated number one on this website.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This hotel is good at best. It is great for a family looking to save money on meals. The room is huge. I would stay here again with my kids but I do not recommend this hotel for a couple. Try to get me to book excursions at a so-called discounted rate but you can get them cheaper in town. I know it's my fault and I should have requested a new room but we were settled in and didn't want to move. I did complain and they came and killed worms but they returned next day. Overall this hotel is nice and definitely quiet but #1 in Key West I think Trip Advisor has this one wrong.

Pros: Room was huge and it had a great kitchen. The hotel is very quiet with very few children. Pool area is beautiful and relaxing. Great sushi restaurant on site. Free parking. Free smoothies at pool.

Cons: Room was dirty and had worms in the shower. Didn't help with bags. No personal service. Had to get up for smoothies at pool no waiter or waitress service. Hotel is far away from Mallory Square.

Tip: Rent a moped to get around town. Shop prices you will be amazed at differences. If you have your own M/V then bring several dollars in .25 pieces. Parking @ meters is .25 per 10 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

After spending hours in front the computer trying to decide on which hotel to stay at, restaurant to eat in, and place to visit, I can honestly say that Santa Maria made it worth every second.

Just to give you the background of my trip: it was just my girlfriend and I and the purpose of the trip was to propose marriage (which she said yes to by the way). In spite of some of the worst weather the area had seen (so I was told by many locals) in ten years, we made the best of our first visit to the Keys and will definitely stay another visit with Santa Maria Suites. We showed up to a warm welcome by the front desk staff where he gave us a rundown of the hotel and Island. Following this, we preceded to our hotel room, which cannot be described in words in regard to its awesomeness (atleast not my words). We stayed on the second floor facing the pool, but really either the second or first floor would have been great (as long as it faced the pool as I do believe there are a few rooms which do not). One of the most attractive things to me and my now wife was the peacefulness. Santa Maria seems to have the service and "spectacle" of a large resort but without the noise and high foot traffic/crowds. Of course, this all comes at a price, which brings me to my last point: the only thing that I would EVER classify as a deterrent for staying here would be the price. However, if you want it to be a special occasion like we did, then it is completely worth it. After all, you only live once!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Santa Maria Suites is an oasis located in the nicest part of Key West. From the outside it doesn't compare architecturally with its neighbour, Southernmost on the Beach, but once inside everything from the beautifully landscaped pool to the decor of the suites was first class.

On most days we ventured no further than the pool area and enjoyed the shade of the coconut palms and the hospitality of the excellent staff. The suites were furnished in an effective minimalist style and upstairs in our split level two bedroomed suite there was plenty of space for two adults and two teenagers. The only minor complaint was the lack of an eating area as we preferred to avoid the overpriced restaurants of Key West and cater for ourselves. We did eat in the good Ambrosia restaurant at lunchtime as prices were half those of the dinner menu.

Key West itself was certainly eclectic and not quite as expected. However, the experience of the Santa Maria Suites was so good we would make the long trek down US1 again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Beautiful hotel situated not too far from Duval street happenings and the beach. Even though it is not a beach front property, it is one of the best places to stay in Key West. Key West is not really known for it's beaches anyway, all the sand is imported from the Bahamas. The complex is quite small- 35 units with onsite free parking. There are 2 pools - sodium based, different than salt water and chlorine pools. The staff is friendly, Ken is usually there during the day as well as Derek. During the night, wolfgang is there for issues/questions. Property is modern, art deco style- similar to Miami Beach hotels. They have a happy hour from 4-5:30 with wines for free. There is also an onsite sushi restaurant, Ambrocia. We highly recommend this place....

Wifi free
Bottled water in room
Ice cream refreshed daily in room

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.