We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Come Back to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Coral Springs, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Place to Come Back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

The customer service by the front desk staff at check-in and by the pool staff during the complimentary happy hour was exceptional, and made us feel welcomed and valued. In addition, the reservation manager handled a miscue in our reservations with a touch of class, both via telephone with me and upon our arrival to our suite where we found a complimentary gift basket as a token of the hotel’s esteem. The complimentary turn-down service had us looking forward to our ice cream each night when we returned from dinner! Our accommodations were top notch, with all the comforts of home. The location of the hotel put is at the sleepy end of the island, away from all the hustle and bustle; but close enough that we were able to walk to the opposite end of Duval, where all the action was, whenever we wanted to. All around, my husband and myself, as well as our friends from out-of-town, agree that we will definitely come back and stay at the Santa Maria for our next visit to Key West!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    131
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
350
316
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Had a great stay at Santa Maria Suites, the front of house staff are very responsive and provide great service. Steve, the general manger, is very good at trouble shooting and the rest of team take their cue from him. Everyone was friendly and went that extra mile to provide very good customer service. Having been to Key West 4 times, staying in 4 different hotels, this is the place I will come back to.

JK, London, UK

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Just spent 5 days in Key West. Santa Maria staff was extremely helpful and generous. The hotel had a great set up for families with the suite format with the two rooms. Relaxing and quiet location but walking distance to restaurants, shops, etc.

After visiting the Keys, I would not stay any other place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

This was a great vacation due to the staff, cleanliness and location. Can not say enough about our stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

My freinds and I stayed at this amazing resort during spring break and we all loved it! The amentites were outstanding, the staff was welcoming, and the overall atmosphere was extremely relaxing. The rooms were very clean with all of the neccesary accomodations, including the extras such as breakfast muffins, ice cream bars, and coffee. But we all especially loved Wolfgang who worked at the front desk during our stay. He was extrmely nice and hospitable every night when we came home from our evening. All of the staff was excellent but he definetly stood out as our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

My wife and I along with my dad and step-mother traveled from Naples, FL down to Key West for a 3 night stay. The service from the staff was excellent and everybody was very helpful whether it was asking about places to eat, getting something for the room, or just talking about the Key West are in general. The staff really makes this place a more enjoyable place to stay.

We reserved a two bedroom bi-level luxury suite but upon check in were moved to a ground level two bedroom luxury suite which had king beds instead of queen (which was nice). I was a little disappointed to learn that the master bedroom was the only room with the nice bathroom as shown in the photos, the other bathroom was very nice but much smaller with very little counter space. I went back and checked the description on their website after we returned from vacation and for the the bi-level suites there was no mention of any difference in the bathrooms but the ground level two bedroom suite description does mention this. I was expecting bathrooms for both guest rooms to be as pictured based on the reservations I made so this was a little bit of a disappointment. The rooms were very clean, quiet, and had a well equipped kitchen and in room washer/dryer. The furniture is very modern, looks great, but not the most comfortable for kicking back an relaxing. I spent some time in Japan and it reminds me of the furniture over there, everything was extra firm except for the bed which was wonderful. The covered porch sitting area with chairs in front of every suite was a nice place to sit outside and relax in the evenings. The pool and surrounding tropical decor was perfect for relaxing around the pool and much better than the local beaches. It is a short walk to Duval street but honestly the only thing we found interesting on Duval street was a few great places to eat (Mangoes 4-5 blocks down on the left is great...try it!)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

It seems silly to add one more to all the great reviews for this place but the staff does such a great job (thanks Derek) and it is such a unique layout that it should be recognized. I travel a lot but this may be the only hotel that I've actually stopped to take pictures of. It's that cool. It's not cheap by a long shot but this hotel will give you memories to go with your good night's sleep. (But you can save some cash by getting some great sandwiches across the street at the market.) The building was originally planned to be condos since the market went soft they went hotel. You can still find on in the real estate guide listed for over a million and they look every bit of it. We stayed in room 14 which is the one in the exterior pictures, ask it is available. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.