We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We love this place. Plenty of room for family of 4. Great treats in room. Nice happy hour. Pool is splendid. Beach access real close. On the quieter end of Duval St which is perfect. Concierge is really helpful.

Room Tip: It's small enough that all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! ...and the "Perfect" comment!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    131
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
350
316
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heathrow, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in October 2013. We stayed in an upper level room with the kitchen, washer dryer, living room on the first level and the bedrooms on the top level. We were not facing the pool, but it was still within sight. The unit was very clean, beds were comfy and grounds well kept. The service was excellent and the special treats they offer - smoothies, wine hour at the pool and frozen treats and muffins made our stay even more special. This hotel is within walking distance of Duval and the Southernmost point café. We are already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Great location near end of Duval, near Southernmost Point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Please come visit soon...been too long! October 2013 was a long time ago! Key West and Santa Maria Suites misses you!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

smaller boutique hotel. we shared a 2nd/3rd floor two bedroom suite with another couple. good location, very clean suite with special treats like muffins, ice cream, smoothies. bedrooms in our suite were small and with queen (soft) beds, but comes with kitchen, washer and dryer and living room. the ground floor suites are worth the extra cost (easy pool access) and our other group had a 2 bedroom with larger rooms and king beds. staff was very nice and accommodating. they also have a free smoothines all day and a free wine happy hour at the pool from 4-5:30. pool was small but nice.

Room Tip: get a ground floor room for best pool access, rent bikes and you don't need a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Very good recommendation to leave your car at home....Key West is nice to walk or ride a bike.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Buffalo, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a wonderful experience and would return to SMS.

Positives:
Small, boutique-y complex is very peaceful and private.
Suites are attractive and intelligently designed - very easy to live in for a week.
Southernmost location perfect if you want occasional, walkable access to Duval Street/tourist mania without actually having to stay in it.
Great/diverse dining options within walking distance.
Pool concierge/amenities really add to the experience.

Needs work:
Housekeeping, while not so poor I would not return, could definitely use improvement. Many missed details and lack of professionalism in guest interactions.
Service is 50/50. There are some amazing stand-outs on the staff, but just as many who don't meet the same standard.
The restaurant is average at best, and our server was poorly trained.
The beach at Southernmost is not fabulous - small, crowded and kind of tired looking. We walked (although better to bike) to Fort Zach, which is much nicer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I apologize for the issues you outlined and spoke with our housekeeping manager as well as the owner of the restaurant....again thank you for your comments and glad you liked the resort. Next visit, I will make sure it will be excellent!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel was very nice and the staff most helpful. Apologies for not getting the blond at the pool bars name but SMS whatever you do, don't lose her! At her recommendation we took a sunset cruise our last evening that made the trip! The front desk was helpful with reservations and taxi's. The unit we were in could sleep 6 if needed - we had 4. Beds were comfortable didn't try the sleep sofa. Kitchen very handy - you could cook full blown meals easily or simply grab a yogurt from the fridge for breakfast. Fresh muffins everyday and chocolates and mini Dove ice cream bars at night. Free smoothies all day by the pool and a very pleasant free happy hour in the evening. When we were there not many kids and always lounge chairs available by the pool - I can imagine that this might not always be true and this is not really designed for young kids. Beach next door came with free lounge chair and towel and for $10 more you could get an umbrella - it was okay. Will do Gulf side beach next time.
The negatives? There was a 100% swing in price on this hotel for us - if you made the effort to book in advance you were penalized - we could have booked on Expedia while we were there for 2/3rds the price! And I do have to agree with the poor housekeeping review: There was a used Kleenex on the floor on our arrival from a prior guest and it was there when we left. A platform bed is a good idea because dirt and trash doesn't collect underneath but it did collect around the edge and that wasn't cleaned before we got there or while we were there. We did ask for the sheets to be changed (you have to put a sign on the bed requesting this) during our stay. And yes, the housekeeping starts late - that was a plus for us for sleeping in. We didn't appreciate the drunks (adults) in the pool after hours one night - very noisy and woke us up - no one there to do anything about it.
So watch the pricing, ignore the poor housekeeping and hope you don't have people that loudly break the pool rules and you'll have a nice time! It's conveniently at the quiet end of Duval. You can have a leisurely breakfast in your room rather than facing a restaurant 1st thing in the morning and enjoy a glass of wine by the pool in the evening before walking to the pier to take in the sunset. We'd do again, I think but would research pricing much more carefully...it wasn't worth the price we paid but would have been worth the price Expedia offered.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I apologize for the issues you stated. Please let me know when you plan to return. Our rates do fluctuate based on type of suite, location and number of people. Some of our partner sites only show the 2 person rate or the lowest rated located suite. I always recommend booking directly with the resort or use the resort's website. We match rates if you can tell us where you are seeing a lower rate too. That is the same with most hotels/resorts.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

From the moment I walked through the lobby into the pool area, I FEEL IN LOVE! The sense of being in a secluded resort surrounded by beautiful coconut & palm trees with orchids growing from the trunks. Amazing, courteous staff...5stars!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! FYI...most all of the orchids are presently blooming and really beautiful to see.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Two wonderful gals at the Reception desk, named Dusti and Karina treated us very well. Dusti suggested places to eat nearby. The suite and pool area were very clean and very well kept. The appearance is appealing inside and out!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! ...and for recognizing Dusti and Karina's efforts.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.