We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Stylish, Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
5% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Modern, Stylish, Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were touring Florida and picking hotels as we went. It was our second visit to Key West having first visited 10 years ago. Saw this place on the net and booked ahead by phone. Glad we did as it was by far the best place we stayed in.
The suites are clustered round two small landscaped pools. You get unlimited free bottled water and fruit smoothies there. Additionally in a late afternoon happy hour you get free wine and snacks. That obviously is attractive but not a reason to stay in itself.
The whole place is very stylish and modern and the rooms in particular were very well equipped. The 1 bed room we had was on two levels with the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The entrance itself was on what we Brits call the first floor although it would be floor two to US residents. There was a steep flight of stairs to climb to the front door. That means we would not recommend it to people of limited mobility. Don't know if all the suites are like that.
The free parking is a boon and the location good - next to "Southernmost on the Beach". It’s close to Duval Street but if it's action you want it's a fair trek as all the lively stuff is at the far end.
We probably will not be returning to Key West - been there and done it (twice). We would recommend the Santa Maria suites to others though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    138
    33
    13
    6
See reviews for
370
337
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed as a party of 2 couples in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. The apartment itself was spacious, clean, well equipped and basically perfect for our needs. They are ideally situated in the heart of Key West within easy access of some fantastic bars, restaurants etc. We hired some bikes from across the road which were around $20 dollars per bike and were well worth it. We covered a huge amount of the lower part of Key West and really enjoyed every minute of it. The Santa Maria Suites were perfect in every way, staff were helpful, knowledgeable and extremely accommodating. The pool area was clean and quiet. Happy hour was from 4 to 5.30(I think) free wine etc :-), fresh muffins and mini ice creams delivered to your room at night time. I would highly recommend these apartments for location, service, staff, cleanliness, amenities. You won't find anything better!!!

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have spent 2 night, with our 3 kids.
Staff was very nice, welcoming, helpful.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable, quiet.
The kitchen was great, I would have loved to have an expresso machine ;-)
Muffins are great too.

The hotel is perfectly located, the swimming pools are not the biggest I know, but very nice and pleasant.

We loved the bar next to the swimming pool, with complimentary drinks, smoothies, lemonade and sun blockers.

We'll be back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Never having been to Key West, we chose Santa Maria Suites from the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. It was, all it was said to be! The suites were beautifully decorated, clean and modern. The lovely kitchens were contemporary with state of the art appliances. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Loved the complimentary smoothies by the pools and the ice cream and muffins that were placed in our room everyday. The location was very convenient to Duvall St. and the ocean. We will come back here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed this sweet resort for fantasy fest and had a wonderful time, The staff was only outmatched by the actual accommodations themselves I had a two room suite up and downstairs gourmet kitchen dual shower headed master bathroom the entire place was well appointed. The ambrosia restaurant that was connected is also a first-class Japanese restaurant. I would recommend this resort anyone wants first-class accommodations well situated in the town of Key West.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I'm glad you enjoyed Ambrosia's Restaurant too. and thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I must say I am very picky when it comes to staying places. Santa Maria suites NEVER disappoints! I have stayed here several times, as I live in Ft. Lauderdale. The staff is great, the rooms are always very clean, you cannot beat the location. The pool is awesome and they have the best smoothies! Also set us up with scooter rentals and anything else you need when you are there. I dont even like muffins and their muffins are the best! I always bring some home with me! I would HIGHLY recommend staying here if you are going to Key West.

Room Tip: Every room is good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business again...and again. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return again….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for two nights in October in a 2 bedroom suite. The suites are very nice! They have a beautiful kitchen, comfortable beds, with a nice living room. They offer smoothies by the pools and snacks in the later afternoon. It's conveniently located - it's near the beach and near Duvall Street but also just far enough away from Duvall Street that one does not get all the noise from the folks who like to visit all the bars late at night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.