We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
5% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magical place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here recently with a few friends I was vacationing with. From the moment we entered the courtyard we knew it was a special place. Our quarters were more like apartments than than hotel rooms. Very modern with everything including kitchen, washer dryers fridge and freezer. The staff was great and really went the extra mile. I loved that we had fresh muffins in our room every night when we got back in too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

FYI...our muffins are baked fresh daily by a local baker...Key West Cakes.

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    139
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
381
344
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great place, clean, all the staff were helpful in our needs, beautiful clean room, excellent location. The suite room that we stayed in had two huge bedrooms and two complete bathrooms, full equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Housekeeping staff tried real hard to keep the suites and resort clean...thanks for noticing it.

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Santa Maria suites for Labor Day weekend. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We had two bedroom suite that made you feel like you were at home versus a hotel. We have stayed at many locations in key west and this is by far the nicest. Hotel Includes free parking, great pool, unlimited smoothies, water and lemonade, free sunscreen. Happy hour included free wine and the beers were only 2.50. You can't beat it!! The staff was great. If you are looking for a wild, crazy place in the heart of all action this is not the place. It is a little bit of a walk to get to all the craziness on duval street. We rented scooters for the weekend and was able to get wherever we needed. We would highly recommend Santa Maria Suites.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Sounds like you had a great time...at the Santa Maria Suites and Key West! That's great!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed for a getaway weekend and took advantage of the Florida resident rate. Rooms were well appointed, very clean, and best of all very quiet. I woke up one morning to go for a walk and it wasn't until I opened the door that I realized it was storming outside. Never heard a thing.
Location is perfect as you are far a way from the Mallory Square insanity, and yet you can walk there if you so desire.
Pool side service is great. Water, smoothies, lemonade, all included. Cocktails are so cheap they are practically free.
Great place and worth a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Glad you enjoyed the cocktails pool side. Lowest prices in Key West is at our pool....only for our guests!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights . We got lots of freebies like ice cream and muffins. We stayed at the pool for a day and it was so nice because barely any people were there and it was clean. We also got free smoothies by the pool that tasted really nice! The rooms were really nice and each bedroom had an ensuite there was also a balcony that looked on to the pool. It is also very near too the beach and lots of places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Glad you enjoyed the "freebies".

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in the hotel on lobster fest weekend. The hotel is located in the heart of Key West; great for tourist that want to park and walk everywhere. The pool area is very well kept. Offers smoothies, water and lemonade. Great touch. The rooms were roomy and had two balconies. The only downside was there was no flexibility at check out. I was sleeping and received a call from front desk. It was 11.10 AM and a lady asked me if we were planning in extending our stay. I said that I wish but that we had lo leave. I asked at what time was the check out, she said RIGHT NOW, so considering that the room wasn't when checking, I asked if we could have a late check out, maybe 1:00 PM. She said NO. I played over $ 550 for one night. Maybe they should have been a little for flexible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon! Next visit, try to make it a few nights...1 night is not enough in Key West.

If we could have allowed you to stay in your suite later than checkout we would ...unfortunately, Lobsterfest weekend was very busy and we had arriving guests for your suite. We encourage guests to allow us to store your luggage and use the resort till you are ready to leave to go back home or on your trip. We have an outdoor shower and chaining room for your use.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Returned from Santa Maria Suites with our two adult sons ages 23 and 21. wanted to come back after last year's vacation was cut short from a hurricane. As usual, the place did not disappoint anyone. My boys had never been here before and were amazed by the gorgeous and spacious rooms. The rooms are large enough for a family of four to feel extremely comfortable. Also, having a washer/dryer helps especially in this day when many take only a carry-on. Love the added amenities of muffins, turn down service and dove bars. Every worker goes the extra mile. Happy hour is a nice treat and reservations and cruises were set up for us at the drop of a dime. It is an expensive place but well worth it. I will absolutely stay there the next time we are in Key West/

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the pool level but not right in front of the pool. Bedrooms are larger and ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments and really appreciate your business (again). We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I'm glad you brought new comers to the Santa Maria Suites. Also...thank you for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.