We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Save Saved
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Trip Advisor Discount
Ranked #4 of 41 hotels in Key West
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited here twice and really enjoyed both visits, only 5 mins walk from Duval Street. A lovely pool in the courtyard, very peaceful, really nice to come back from a day out and just chill in the pool at happy hour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for the 5 Star rating...and come back to "Heaven" real soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    778
    115
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
321
295
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The suites are unbelievable: modern, clean and huge! The concierge staff went out of their way to make everything we wanted to do possible. The suites are a short walk from the main drag which is nice, but you can rent bikes, scooters or get a taxi easily.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!!!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huffman, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is nice quiet accommodation set back of Duval Street by one block. Its courtyard offers total privacy and the apartments are well appointed, clean and modern. We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment and the kids enjoyed flipping between the rooms and the pool when not on the daily activities.

The place has a limited number of suites, probably about 30 or so in total. It has daily pool service with free ice cream, soft drinks, and smoothies. There is a turn down service with where they provide muffins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I like the Dove Ice Creams, Smoothies and Muffins too. Key West Cakes, a local baker (upscale) bakes our muffins daily...so they are fresh every day!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful Small Luxury Hotel,  it spotlessly clean, lush in Key West landscapes, and our room felt as though we were the first guests to ever sleep there.  Key West is alot of fun and can be quite rowdy, I love it. So after and day and night being perctly well behaved, one street behind Duval was our temporary oasis called Santa Maria Suite, from the outside its somewhat unassuming,  but once thru the gates you enter this magical courtyard flanked by  3 structures with many cute balconies that all sink in the lush lighted landscape. Your eyes are drawn to the two beautiful shallow pools, few steps thru this courtyard was our room. Walk thru a private little balcony, and open the two French doors,  and bam,  you walk in to a perfect brand new party kitchen (for lack of better terms). All stainless and granite, the fridge and freezer combo is custom and part of the cabinetry,  no big doors, its just 4 climate controlled drawers, super cool. Its a beautiful fully functional kitchen. when standing behind the counter, you are looking thru the French doors at the beautiful pools.  So the main front room is the kitchen, bar counter,a great room with couch, two comfy fabric chairs and the obligatory 50in tv, awsome first impression.  We we re five people,  and we were all very comfortable and were still on speaking terms at the end of the trip, so needless to say, the room was plenty roomy.  Its two bedrooms, one master with its own party ready tripple head standup shower and double sink, the second bedroom was equally as beautiful with the same pillowtop king, the only difference is this bedroom had a bathroom that was shared with all others in the suite. Unbelievably devastating (just kidding, it was no big deal).  Perfect location, leave the hotel, walk 132 steps and  jump in the Atlantic Ocean, fantastic snorkeling right there.  As kinda of a cool aside, when we snorkeled we drifted down a bit and and had to walk thru a big name super fancy resort beach club and pool and lobby, we thought we were going to be super impressed,  it was nice,  but Santa Maria was a much better fit for us,  and I believe Santa Maria is a much better fit for Key West. Waldorf looks like they killed every living and put up their big beautiful building,  Santa Maria looks like It was meticulously built around indigenous Key West landscape.  Also want to take a minute, to talk about the staff. How can I explain this except by saying everyone we encountered was a true pro. Great service without being annoying or over bearing is a true art, this place has it down. We were there for 3 nights and dealt with only 3 people, front desk, pool attendant, and our housekeeper, all real people with no cheesy scripts to follow. They were helpful and kind  and are the main reasons I am writing this review. All sorts of cool stuff, fresh smoothies all day, happy hour by the pool daily, steel drum dude by the pool on some days, all at no cost. Oh also wifi free. Mixed crowd at this hotel,  some families, some couples,  there was a group of guys for a bachelor party, two women coworkers next to us, the  reason I mention this is that this hotel had a cool vibe that spread to all of us.  When we walked thru the hotel next door it seemed like everyone was so so cool and it looked lame, no one was talking. Been to key west a few times, I've camped in a tent during the milenium new yrs, stayed right on duval at like a boarding room type hotel (southerncross hotel) during fantasy fest and this time at santa maria, all of the forementioned trips were all very different but i have super cool fun vivid great fun crazy memories of my each of those trips, Key West is got to be on your list,  and when you go,  check out this hotel. I have spent many yrs behind the scenes, so sometimes im a bit judgy, your team killed it, hats off and a big sincere thank you~

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you so much for all your kind words!!! All of them...and Thank You for your 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were so excited to go on vacation, and this hotel made the trip that much better! The staff, as mentioned, was very sweet. The rooms are beautiful, and well-stocked. The amenities are really convenient- free muffins & smoothies daily! What can I say: the pool, staff, rooms, and location ALL exceeded our expectations. I chose this hotel based off of Tripadvisor, and YOU SHOULD TOO!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you so much for the 5 Star rating!!!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After spending the week at a conference at the Westin, we wanted something a lot more personal and unique. We got a screaming last minute deal at the boutique-y Santa Maria Suites and genuinely were impressed with our two-story queen sized suite. The main floor was a small living room with a flat- screen tv, a patio that opens to the central pool area, a washing machine and dryer (yay!), and a really cool kitchen equipped for entertaining. Upstairs, the bedroom (with a 2nd flat screen tv) and deck were small, but comfortable. Turn-down service included them leaving muffins and mini Dove ice cream bars in the kitchen and chocolates on the pillows. There are two small pools at the center of the property with a bartender and happy hour, and complimentary bottled water, juices, and popsicles. There was also a variety of sunscreens for use. All the front desk agents, especially Nordi, were awesome and informative. They helped us book taxi-service, restaurant reservations, a jet-ski tour with Barefoot Billy's, and checked us in for our flights and printed out boarding passes. This was a terrific way to round out our stay in Key West and if you are looking to get a little bit away from the heavy-duty tourist scene and perhaps wanting to cook meals on your own, this would be the place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 31, which was an end unit. We didn't hear anything from our neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I'm sorry I missed writing a note back...I read your review in June.

I'm glad you had a good tour with Barefoot Billy's. My son is a Jet Ski guide when on break from college with Barefoot Billy's.

I'll be sure Nordi sees your comments about him...thank you.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a wonder place to stay, it's easy to see how they received their Excellent rating on Tripadvisor as well as a four diamond rating. This has to be the most outstanding room to date that Josh and I have had the opportunity to stay in. Nothing is missed, the contemporary styling that looks like it just was created for a photo shoot in a magazine to the fully stocked/equipped kitchen; freezer and refrigerator drawers, dish washer, washer and dryer in room in addition to the shower built for two, HD televisions in every room, wonderful natural stone tile throughout including marble floors in the bathroom and a marble bench in shower to sit on and beautiful wall tile, nothing is missed no matter where you look. While the price is not for those on a budget you get what you pay for. If the rooms weren't enough to make you want to never leave the rest of the grounds are just as outstanding as the rooms, the live plants that surround the patios in front of the rooms, the variety and quality of the botanical garden (complete with labels to identify species) they didn't miss anything. Don't pass up the opportunity to stay if you get the chance you won't regret your investment. I only had one issue and it was with the spotty coverage for the Wi Fi in room 9 but don't let that deter you from the opportunity to stay at Santa Maria I am sure they will have fixed it by the time the weekend is over and a professional gets to look at it. Located just a couple of blocks off the beach and from Duval Street park you car in the private parking lot and bike or walk to whatever you need.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor next to the pool that is surrounded by plant life, however I don't believe th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I immediately had the WiFi looked at in suite number 9 and we don't have an issue anymore.

Thank you for the 5 Star rating!!!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.