We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way possible with exception of spotty Wi Fi coverage in room 9” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way possible with exception of spotty Wi Fi coverage in room 9”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a wonder place to stay, it's easy to see how they received their Excellent rating on Tripadvisor as well as a four diamond rating. This has to be the most outstanding room to date that Josh and I have had the opportunity to stay in. Nothing is missed, the contemporary styling that looks like it just was created for a photo shoot in a magazine to the fully stocked/equipped kitchen; freezer and refrigerator drawers, dish washer, washer and dryer in room in addition to the shower built for two, HD televisions in every room, wonderful natural stone tile throughout including marble floors in the bathroom and a marble bench in shower to sit on and beautiful wall tile, nothing is missed no matter where you look. While the price is not for those on a budget you get what you pay for. If the rooms weren't enough to make you want to never leave the rest of the grounds are just as outstanding as the rooms, the live plants that surround the patios in front of the rooms, the variety and quality of the botanical garden (complete with labels to identify species) they didn't miss anything. Don't pass up the opportunity to stay if you get the chance you won't regret your investment. I only had one issue and it was with the spotty coverage for the Wi Fi in room 9 but don't let that deter you from the opportunity to stay at Santa Maria I am sure they will have fixed it by the time the weekend is over and a professional gets to look at it. Located just a couple of blocks off the beach and from Duval Street park you car in the private parking lot and bike or walk to whatever you need.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor next to the pool that is surrounded by plant life, however I don't believe th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I immediately had the WiFi looked at in suite number 9 and we don't have an issue anymore.

Thank you for the 5 Star rating!!!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    131
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
350
316
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our suite was like an apartment--very spacious. The pool was a bit small. The amenities were nice. The only problem I had was with the bathrooms. The bathrooms were small with no counter. I did not think much of that at first but it turned out to be an inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business.

I apologize that you could not give us a better rating. If you give the Santa Maria Suites another chance, I would encourage you to call me directly for your next reservation. I can describe the other type of suite we offer which is more like a town home with a smaller kitchen area. Our suites are just under 1,000 square feet and half of the suite is bedroom and the other half is living area.

Again and the Santa Maria staff would love for you to give us another opportunity and hopefully you will at your next visit to Key West.

Hope to see you again!
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for a week the beginning of May. We loved it. The rooms were a great size and they were very well stocked - dishes, blender, coffee pot, dish towels, etc. The pool and grounds were beautiful. The front desk was extremely helpful, they had great suggestions and set up our bike rental for us. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!!!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here in March and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Located near the beach but close enough to walk to everything, we could take in the festivities on Duval Street or retreat to the hotel for a break.The staff (especilally Christina the Concierge) and grounds exceeded our expectations. Quiet and serene poolside retreat with slushies to cool off with.during an afternoon break were much welcomed. Our contemporary and sleek two bedroom, two bathroom suite (number 11) was actually a small apartment steps from the pool with a laundry and well equipped kitchen. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit.. If you are looking for a serene get away -- this is the place!

Room Tip: Suite number 11 opens to the courtyard/poolside. Just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I also like the privacy of suite 11...and thank you for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and we just loved the place. Great location close to a public beach and Duval street. The staff is very nice and helpful and they booked us on a day trip to see dolphines which was great. We had a 2-bedroom suite and it had 2 floors, downstairs was the kitchen and tv-room and upstairs the bedrooms. There were 3 bathrooms and 3 balconies. The hotel offers lots of extra services like free smoothies by the pool, muffins and icecream delivered to the room every night and a daily newspaper. The kitchen was fully equipped and had a very modern feel, as well as the bedroom and bathroom. The pool area was very nice with 2 pools and free towels and the area was very clean. Wifi is free and worked really well even in the suite. Cant really find anything negative to ay about this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I'm glad you did see dolphins...that's always fun! Thank you for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very comfortable and well maintained. Didn't spend a lot of time in the unit because I was out fishing during the day, but it was a great place to come back to after a long day on the flats. Front desk staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for the 5 Star rating!!!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a great time in Key West and the hotel was a great part of that. Nordi, the front desk man was always ready to help with anything we needed, reservations, suggestions, and just plain being there to talk. The rooms were clean, everything was there that we needed for a great week. Washer & Dryer, full kitchen, beautiful washrooms, free muffins and ice cream at night. The pool was a great place to relax, the slushies were free at pool side. The hotel sets at the South end of Simonton street, one block from Duval Street where all the action is, and a block from the Southern Most Point in the United States. The only down side was the sushi restaurant, would have been nice if the restaurant had a general menu for those of us that don't like raw anything. All in all, the staff at Santa Maria Suites made our vacation one of our favorites.

Room Tip: These rooms are all great, originally built as condos they have everything a person would need, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you so much for your 5 Star rating!!!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.