We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small warm friendly- steps away from Duval Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Trip Advisor Discount
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Small warm friendly- steps away from Duval Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Turndown at this resort features Dove bars and muffins - or chocolate. Just steps from Duval Street and on the ocean, this is a great spot for exploring Old Town. You can walk everywhere - so parking is not an issue. See the Hemingway House, take a trolley or train ride around the sicty or just relax. Come back to enjoy smoothies by one of two pools and poolsie bar.

Room Tip: Lovely modern decor with washer.dryer fully fitted kitchen- every thing to make it home away from ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    126
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
345
310
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time staying here and we love it!
It's a small hotel with beautiful clean suites. The 2 bedroom units have 2 baths, 3 tvs and modern appliances including a washer and dryer. In the evening staff drop by your room with muffins, chocolates and ice cream bars. ost rooms have a great view of the pool which is surrounded by a tropical garden. Poolside bar offers free non-alcoholic frozen drinks. The hotel is in walking distance of Oldtown Key West. Hotel guests have access to the beach at the hotel across the street. Attached to the hotel is an excellent Japanese restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner. Across the street is a convenience store, a bicycle and scooter rental shop and a small take out restaurant. Hotel staff are wonderful and can make any arrangements for tours and restaurant reservations. Lots of free parking and the wi-fi is complementary. It's a great place to spend a night or a whole week.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating! We really appreciate your business...repeat business...thank you!

We are glad you had another nice stay and hope you return….soon! Your home away from your Canadian home.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Santa Maria Suites go the extra mile for their guests. The suites are more like a high end extended stay property. Most guests won't appreciate the top of the line kitchen (cabinets, counter tops, etc) but it certainly is nice when you are staying with a group of girls and you want to have a great Happy Hour right in your room! The resort provides smoothies at the pool and you can spike them if you want. They also deliver muffins in the AM and treats at bed time. This is perfect spot for a "Girlfriend Getaway" or for two couples who travel together. The have a beach area set aside for their guests just minutes away. I would stay here again, although it certainly isn't a budget property!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODWOOD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spacious suites, full amenities (stocked kitchen, tv in bdrms & LR, washer/dryer, nicely furnished, 1 2pc & 2-3pc baths, 3 balconies, etc) surrounding a lovely pool courtyard area. It is a mini destination unto itself though the concierge was very helpful in getting us set up for other adventures. Nice touches included a restaurant, sunscreen poolside, happy hour & 1/2, ice cream, smoothies great location close to Duval St. & use of a beach.

Room Tip: Every suite seemed to be premium quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

We hope you do consider the Santa Maria Suites your home away from home...we want you to feel like you are at home.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Santa Maria Suites were a lot nicer than I had expected. Yes, the reviews are very good, but did not think it would be this nice. Stayed here for 2 nights in the beginning of March with my wife, son, and parents. My son is 3 and really liked the heated pool. The suite is quite nice and the kitchen is great (especially with a small child). The beds are toe stubs waiting to happen if you are not ready for them, not a problem after reading the reviews ahead of time. Happy hour is nice and the all day smoothies as well. Good location near the quiet end and a few minute walk to the action. Turn down service is a nice touch. We will definitely be back to Key West and most likely will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you and your family return soon!

We're glad you and your family had such a good time.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at the Santa Maria Hotel for a few days in Key West and this hotel is very peculiar. It is a small estate of suites with terraces (yes… with an “s”! 3 terraces in my small suite!).

Staying there is like living in a villa sharing where every client being your “roommate”: clients are as friendly as the staff, it is easy to chit chat with them around the swimming pool, everyone knows each other…

Pros:
-huge suites, decently decorated with nice terraces
-well situated close to the activities
-super friendly staff
-friendly guests
-HAPPY HOUR and complimentary drinks/food is crazy there! Free excellent unlimited glass of wine between 4 and 5:30 PM (!!!) free smoothies all day long, free muffins, free dove bars, free crackers, free sun lotions, inexpensive beers, cocktails… relaxing around the pool the whole day is VERY TEMPTING in this hotel
-free parking and wi-fi

Cons:
-expensive,
-feeling spied upon and generally observed by the other “poolmates”, general promiscuity feeling
-spending your holidays drunk by the pool thanks to complimentary glasses of white wine, smoothies cocktails…

Room Tip: Most of the suites are around the pool, this may not be suitable for guest looking for some extra in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for the list of Pros ...and Cons!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were two couples and our goal was to be able to stay together, yet have privacy when needed.
The kitchen area was stocked with anything you would need to have delicious meals and drinks together. Loved the pull out Refrigerator/freezer drawers. The bedrooms where a little small (a little getting used to walking around the beds), however the beds were comfortable. Free muffins, dove ice cream & chocolates, replenished each day. WIFI was no extra cost and was high-speed.
The hospitality at check-in and throughout our stay was very friendly and helpful. At poolside, iced water, fruit, fruit smoothies, free happy hour wine and suntan lotion were available at no cost.
Christina helped up arrange a much enjoyed nighttime sunset cruise on a catamaran boat and a day trip to Dry Tortugas National Park. Christina gave us very helpful information to make our stay to Key West the most enjoyable. This resort was very quiet at night so you could be well rested to enjoy your day.
Most everything was within walking distance, Southernmost Point, Groceries, Duval Street Etc.
Being from the midwest, we are not huge Sushi fans, so we did not utilize the restaurant on sight.
Great place to stay and we will come back to Santa Maria Suites soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Next time you're make a reservation, look at and purchase a pool view flats...the bedrooms are bigger.

Christina says hello and thanks you for the kind words.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.