We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Save Saved
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Trip Advisor Discount
Ranked #4 of 41 hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After staying in Marathon in a dump, we were pleasantly surprised to when we arrived at SM. We were allowed to check in very early and parking was included. Beautifully decorated suite with ultra modern kitchen and fixtures. Clean clean clean is how I would describe entire resort. Perfect location one resort in from the beach and one block from Duval. Very nice touches like towels on the lounge chairs, fresh fruit, smoothies and sunblock by the pool. Drinks were fair priced ($3 for a beer) Much cheaper than most KW places. Other nice touches were the Dove ice cream in the unit as well as the turn down service with chocolates on our pillows and fresh muffin left for us in the kitchen. Did not want to leave! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. Sorry you had a bad stay at another resort in the Keys.

We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    787
    118
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
325
297
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

From the location to the service excellent!!! The only thing I would say is that they don't have in-room dining service. For the rest very nice. The rooms are incredibly modern n clean, heated pool, free wine, pita chips with hummus and fruit smoothies. Walking distance to duval street. It is a must stay small luxury hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
Next time you are in town and hopefully staying at the Santa Maria Suites, we can arrange delivery of food from almost any restaurant in Key West for your room service needs.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had 14 people stay in 3 beautiful state of the art luxury suites. The free smoothy's at the pool are the best, free mini dove ice cream bars each day were a nice touch. We had an awesome time, we were treated very well especially by Christi at the front desk. I highly recommend Santa Maria Suites to anyone interested in vacationing in the Keys in pure luxury!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Collins Group,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
I'm glad Christie took such good care of you and your group while at Santa Maria Suites. She read and appreciates your comments.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carteret, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My recent stay at the Santa Maria in December 2012 was incredible. Very relaxing atmosphere with incredible rooms. On site parking and in a very quiet part of the island, yet very close to everything. Throughout our stay we were greeted and accommodated by just about everyone on the staff. With a small staff, you really get acquainted with everyone there. By the end of our week in Key West we were on a first name basis with Kristie, Christen, Jodi, Wolfgang, Jane, and Nordi. Each and every person at this hotel was great. To top it all off, there was ice cream bars in the freezer every day and chocolates on our bed every night. I definitely plan on revisiting this hotel again very soon.

Room Tip: Every room at this hotel is great. The flat rooms are a little roomier and have larger beds, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
I'm glad Christie, Cristen, Jodi, Wolfgand, Jane and Nordi took such good care of you what you remembered their names. They all read and appreciate your comments.
We are looking into new bed frames at our next bedroom improvement plan to raising the beds higher off the floor.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

great place...they couldn't do enough to help us. Salt water pool & dual head rain shower were highlights. Very close to southern most point. Walking distance to nightlife. great breakfast spot across the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
Actually the pools are fresh water but uses chemicals with salt to soften the water.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in November. Overall it's vey nice place but the atmosphere is very modern and not very Key West. We had a two bedroom suite. It was clean, living room area was a little small, kitchen was very nice but we didn't use it. The muffins and ice cream bars are a nice touch but a little variety might be nice. The bed in the master bedroom and the toilet in the master bath were very low. This could be a problem for an older couple. The space around the bed is small and we bumped our toes several times on the bed frame. For some reason after the first night they would never leave wash clothes when towels were changed and we had to ask for them. Pool area is nice and clean. Adjoining sushi restaurant is very good. Overall this is a very nice place and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
We are looking into new bed frames at our next bedroom improvement plan to raising the beds higher off the floor.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I must say that I am somewhat of a very picky traveler. With that said the Santa Maria Suites is a very relaxing "believe it or not due to location" place to stay. I picked this hotel after many hours of evaluation for a all girls trip and we had (two) two bedroom suites for 7 of us and was very happy. Location was in a very laid back part of Key West but yet within a quick walk. Usually I can find at least one thing that really turns me off regarding the help, the room and or the atmosphere but yet with the Santa Maria I really can't come up with one negative? place is beyond beautiful.

Room Tip: Two bedroom first floor is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.