We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with an EXCELLENT Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
5% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Carteret, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with an EXCELLENT Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My recent stay at the Santa Maria in December 2012 was incredible. Very relaxing atmosphere with incredible rooms. On site parking and in a very quiet part of the island, yet very close to everything. Throughout our stay we were greeted and accommodated by just about everyone on the staff. With a small staff, you really get acquainted with everyone there. By the end of our week in Key West we were on a first name basis with Kristie, Christen, Jodi, Wolfgang, Jane, and Nordi. Each and every person at this hotel was great. To top it all off, there was ice cream bars in the freezer every day and chocolates on our bed every night. I definitely plan on revisiting this hotel again very soon.

Room Tip: Every room at this hotel is great. The flat rooms are a little roomier and have larger beds, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
I'm glad Christie, Cristen, Jodi, Wolfgand, Jane and Nordi took such good care of you what you remembered their names. They all read and appreciate your comments.
We are looking into new bed frames at our next bedroom improvement plan to raising the beds higher off the floor.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    147
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
408
360
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

great place...they couldn't do enough to help us. Salt water pool & dual head rain shower were highlights. Very close to southern most point. Walking distance to nightlife. great breakfast spot across the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
Actually the pools are fresh water but uses chemicals with salt to soften the water.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in November. Overall it's vey nice place but the atmosphere is very modern and not very Key West. We had a two bedroom suite. It was clean, living room area was a little small, kitchen was very nice but we didn't use it. The muffins and ice cream bars are a nice touch but a little variety might be nice. The bed in the master bedroom and the toilet in the master bath were very low. This could be a problem for an older couple. The space around the bed is small and we bumped our toes several times on the bed frame. For some reason after the first night they would never leave wash clothes when towels were changed and we had to ask for them. Pool area is nice and clean. Adjoining sushi restaurant is very good. Overall this is a very nice place and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
We are looking into new bed frames at our next bedroom improvement plan to raising the beds higher off the floor.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I must say that I am somewhat of a very picky traveler. With that said the Santa Maria Suites is a very relaxing "believe it or not due to location" place to stay. I picked this hotel after many hours of evaluation for a all girls trip and we had (two) two bedroom suites for 7 of us and was very happy. Location was in a very laid back part of Key West but yet within a quick walk. Usually I can find at least one thing that really turns me off regarding the help, the room and or the atmosphere but yet with the Santa Maria I really can't come up with one negative? place is beyond beautiful.

Room Tip: Two bedroom first floor is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

After much research, we booked Santa Maria Suites for 4 nights for a Girl's Trip in late November. I initially hesitated because I felt like we needed to be closer to the "action" on Duval, but quickly found out that everything truly is just a short walk, bicycle ride, or cheap late night taxi ride back to the hotel.

There isn't a single negative thing I can say about this property. Everything about it was perfect.

- beautiful surroundings & grounds
- lush, comfortable, clean, state-of-the-art accomodations
- terrific pool
- lots of little perks for guests (muffins in the morning, ice cream in the evening)
- friendly staff that goes out of their way to make sure you have everything you want or need
- location close enough to everything you want to do but quiet enough to get some sleep at night (seriously if you're out on Duval late and are stumbling back, take a taxi, it's cheap and gets you back to the hotel quickly & safely)

Call them directly for the best rates and sign up for their email specials on their site. Trip Advisor had a 10% discount when we booked our trip. Their rates are competitive and you will be so much more comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We were at Santa Maria Suites for only one night, as we decided to arrive a day early in Key West and get a jump start on our vacation. Santa Maria Suites was so nice, we could have spent our entire vacation there, if we'd know when booking hotels originally. We stayed in a drop-dead gorgeous one bedroom suite, with living room, full kitchen, one and a half baths, and THREE balconies, including a very nice terrace overlooking the pool. We enjoyed turn-down service with a mint on our pillows, and muffins tucked away in the kitchen for the next morning. The pool area is beautiful, and during happy hour, we got some excellent advice on some great dinner options. Thanks, Santa Maria Suites, we look forward to coming back some day!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My family and I loved the seven nights we spent at this hotel. We had an amazing two bedroom suite with balcony overlooking the pool. We are booking the same time next year, that's how good this place is. Special mention to Christina at the pool bar who recomended and booked the Western Union sunset cruise for us This spectacular event is a must do.

Room Tip: Second floor offers more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.