We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Save Saved
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Trip Advisor Discount
Ranked #5 of 40 hotels in Key West
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay. It is located one block from the beach and two blocks from Duvall Street. We had a 2 bedroom suite and a pull out couch with a complete fully stocked kitchen for the price of two hotel rooms. We had a pool level and the landscaping provided great privacy. They provided free fruit and smoothies daily at the pools and free beer and wine during happy hour. The staff was very friendly and had many great recommendations for excellent restaurants. They also provide turn down service, including Dove chocolates and ice cream. We would definitely staff here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    755
    110
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
310
289
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Santa Maria Resorts in Key West! The staff were all so helpful, especially Christie. We would strongly recommend this resort, especially the two story suites with kitchen and washer/dryer. Many thanks to all that make this resort so special.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Very near the southernmost point. It is a small boutique hotel. There are 4 of us sharing a bi-level 2 bedroom suite with a full beautiful kitchen. We get nightly Dove ice cream bars and chocolates on our beds at turn down. There is a happy hour with complimentary wine, smoothies, pita chips and hummus. The staff is delightful and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife & I were very pleased. We had room 32 which was a two level, 1 bedroom with a full kitchen, living room and 1.5 baths. There are two pools next to each other and plenty of lounge chairs. The pools are surrounded by the resort, so you are protected on a windy day. It was very clean and modern. It is close to Duval Street (the quieter end) and next to the Southernmost Beach Resort. Duval Street is about 1.25 miles long and I could walk to the other end in about 20 minutes. There are plenty of pedicabs around (bikes hauling two seat carriages). We were quoted $1.50/minute which I felt was ridiculous, so we offered $50 for one hour and the guy took it because most of the pedicabs were empty at that time, so don't hesitate to negotiate the pedicabs if they are not busy. You can use the Southernmost Beach Resort's beach. We did not try the Santa Maria's restaurant. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, choose a ground level suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The concept sounded great. A two bedroom suite with balcony over looking a pool. In reality all the photos must have been taken with a wide angle lens. Very narrow rooms with barely enough room to walk around the lumpy mattresses. Why have two bedrooms for 2 couples when you can barely be in the same space. Would say the kitchen was nice. The mini dove bars were a nice touch. Bottom line - Not worthy of being designated a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Location close to the beach and almost at the end of Duvall street, a walk away from almost everything you might need. We had an upstairs room with a kitchen, living room and 1.5 bathrooms. I'd recommend the downstairs rooms. Although wen had a lot of rooms they were all small, the pool is nice but not spectacular, pool drinks a a nice touch.

Beds are incredibly soft!! No bath, there are no seats at the reception desk so they sit and check you in/out and you either stand or sit several metres away

Great if you like to self cater or have kids

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Santa Maria Suites in Key West. Once again, we had a fantastic experience at this property. The rooms were immaculate and the hotel staff went above and beyond to help with very specific needs our family had last minute. We highly recommend this little piece of oasis near the Southern Most Point of Key West!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Resort
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#15 Romantic Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.