We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried fish and Cuban sandwich delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caroline's Cafe

Caroline's Cafe
310 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-7511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 343 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
227 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fried fish and Cuban sandwich delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

As soon as we arrived in the Keys we knew we needed to head to Duval Street for a good fish sandwich. My husband and I had been to Caroline's many years ago and well remembered the Grouper sandwiches. Mikey was our server. He did a great job taking care of us, suggesting drinks for my husband and keeping our waters full. He also helped with suggesting our entrees. The misters are great as it was quite warm that day. The fried fish sandwich was delicious and the cuban sandwich my son ordered was tasty as well. Food and service excellent, right on Duval street, outdoor seating was nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,047
    914
    227
    56
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Great food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

After a long day of fishing we headed to Caroline's on Duval street for dinner. The service was outstanding (thanks Allison) and the meal was great. The bruschetta was some of the best we have ever had, the burger and cheesesteak were huge, and the key lime pie was amazing! Caroline's came highly recommended from three different locals - we recommend it as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“great fine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Another HOT day in the keyes. We stopped by Carolina's Cafe for lunch. The added patio misters kept us cool,while we experienced great food and service. The manager made sure to thank each and every patron in his restaurant for coming in. We even experienced "Abby" the rooster. He was a delight. DEFINATLY put Carolina's Cafe on our place to reurn to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alta loma, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a place to eat at key west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

we drove all the way to Key West from Miami, and we were hungry upon arrival, we found Caroline's while walking around and decided to try it out while we were there and we were not disappointed. the sandwiches are large enough that i had no room for the key lime pie after, and the service was great! before leaving, the owner even came to our table to thank us for trying his Cafe, now that is service! i would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Caroline's has good food and an interesting atmosphere. The shrimp blt was a unique and delicious sandwich.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Cafe also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Caroline's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caroline's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.