We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B with a few Problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Key West

Save Saved
You added Azul Key West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Key West
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   907 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B with a few Problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Azul Key West and found the staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious, wish there had been at least one rug, shower pressure and temperature varied. The Air Conditioner was VERY noisy and we ended up just using the ceiling fan to get some quiet. Loved the warmed small swimming pool. Cold breakfast was exactly the same every morning and sometimes there was no place to sit. It was at least a 30 min. walk to Mallory Square which got to be too much after awhile. For the price (high), I would have expected a hot breakfast, more communal tables to meet the other guests, quiet A/C. I think I'd try another B&B if I were to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzulManagement, Owner at Azul Key West, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We thank every reviewer for taking the time to air their concerns; although without trying to sound defensive in response, there must be considerations when staying in a 110 year old home as opposed, let's say, a Hilton or Holiday Inn. At the same time we are conscious of the issues and will try to improve.
With regard our showers...during high season in the Florida Keys we all share the same water supply. It's piped 140 miles from the mainland to the end of the pipeline and when everyone in Key West takes a shower at the same time each morning there's barely enough water to go around and temperature fluctuations are an occasional hazard. While modern shower mixers should prevent extremes, it's a common complaint and in some of the older properties is easily overcome by choosing to shower at off-peak times if at all possible.
Our window AC's are a little noisy by nature and we continue working to minimize their impact. We would prefer central air but it is not possible in this registered, historic structure. One tip is to set the AC fan speed to it's lowest setting and reduce vibration. Our ceiling fans will disburse the air.
When it comes to breakfast we offer coffee, teas, fresh fruits like papaya, watermelon, pineapple and cantaloupes, toast, eggs, a selection of muffins right from the oven, yogurt, juices, preserves and of course cereals and milk. This presents plenty of options short of retaining a full-time chef... and if you prefer a "full on breakfast" then perhaps treat yourself at any of Key West's excellent restaurants one morning. Our breakfast spread was fashioned after a plate from one of the more famous eateries.....their price - around $20!
There's no doubt Key West is an expensive destination during winter months yet Azul is reasonably priced within that bracket. Our staff are anxious to please every guest and are proud of our continuous restoration efforts of this classic Queen Anne mansion.
Dominic Marsden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    79
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
263
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stering, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 5-night stay in the Ambrosia, King-size room on the lower floor. Because none of the rooms have carpeting or rugs, we were kept awake most of the night by the sound of footsteps in the room above. The location is very convenient to Duval Street. Although the rooms were fairly priced, extremely clean, fresh towels and linens provided daily, the room was much smaller than it appeared in the photographs...leaving us both feeling quite claustrophic. Fortunately, we had wonderful weather and spent as much time outdoors as possible. The staff was courteous, friendly and attentive. Would go back again, but would book an upstairs room and would not want to stay more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day/2 night get away to Key West, and stayed at the Azul. Our manager during our stay was Gail, and she was terrific. Very helpful & gave us lots of tips for enjoying our trip. We had booked 3 rooms several months ago online, and had found the Azul on Tripadvisor. I will admit it was much nicer than the photos that appeared on their website.

The location was convenient, close to Duval, yet away from the crazy crowds. The rooms were very clean, and seemed to be recently renovated. Breakfast was very nice. They had lots of tropical cut fruit, fresh muffins, cereal, tropical yogurts, toast, hard boiled eggs & juices. We were situated upstairs on the pool deck over looking the pool.

That said, there were a few issues that i thought I should bring up. My husband & I stayed in the Flor de Cana. If you are someone who needs a dark room to sleep....this isn't it. There are no black out shades on either the door or the very large window in the room that faces ENE. The wall mounted air-conditioner was extremely noisy. By the second night I thought I was hearing someone scrapping paint outside, but came to realize it was just a crazy sound coming from the AC. Our mattress was sinking in the center, so we tended to roll into each other all night. Finally, the shower in our room had very weak pressure & continually went from warm to scalding while we showered. Now, in fairness to the Azul, our friends in the 2 adjoining rooms claimed they had really strong shower pressure & great mattresses. They were also in rooms that were much darker, with smaller windows not facing the sun in the morning.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Azul & I'd stay there again, but in a different room.

Room Tip: Very early risers who like bright rooms & a lot of AC noise while they sleep would like the Flor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
496 helpful votes 496 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Azul Key West has the classic KW appearance, with white clapperboard, endless balconies and an inviting pool in the centre. Rebecca on reception was extremely helpful and went to lengths to orientate us to the delights that KW has to offer, which included advising on, and booking, the best restaurants. She also mentioned that the rooms didn't have fridges and that cooling wine entailed filling a cooler with ice and then carrying that to one's room, which didn't sound ideal. On other days, Michael was on duty and he was equally helpful.

Our room was on the top floor and described as the "luxury suite". This has to be accessed via a narrow spiral staircase which definitely isn't for those who are obese, scared of heights or carrying oversized suitcases. Initial impressions of the room were very favourable: a long room under the eaves with a king size bed at one end and a seating area at the other. But it didn't take long for niggles to emerge. Because of the construction of the space, the bathroom is underneath where two eaves slope down. This creates a very cramped space, particularly if you're more than average height, so doing just about anything in the bathroom means stooping. The shower and bath were similarly affected by the height restrictions and we also noticed long hairs in the bath that shouldn't have been there. The grouting around the edge of the bath was less than adequate. Surprisingly, there was no way to lock or even close the bathroom door properly. Long hairs were also to be found in our bed when we got up the first morning and they certainly weren't ours.

Breakfast is complementary and there are tables and chairs on the front deck. This is strictly self-service and there's a good range of fresh fruit, boxed cereals, bread, jams and fresh coffee. Yoghurts are synthetic and glutinous despite the 'probiotic' label. As there are only four tables, sharing is often necessary but this is a good way of finding out what's good in KW.

Because of the layout of the deck and balconies, there's no one spot that gets sun all day long. The deck immediately in front of the breakfast area is best during the morning and the balcony on the floor overlooking the pool is good in the afternoon. The luxury suite has its own balcony which is long and narrow, but it's not a good spot for the sun and gets rather breezy.

Overall, a classic place to stay in that's peaceful and well away from the madness of Duval Street. There are some minor niggles, but that's made up for by the general atmosphere of the place and Rebecca and Michael's genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Park, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location - walk to all the action on Duval. The staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The grounds are well kept and provide an overall great atmosphere. I will definitely stay here again on future trips.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Azul while visiting Key West for the first time last weekend, and I couldn't have been happier with my experience at the hotel. I'd definitely stay there again if -- or should I say when -- I go back.

Loved that it was located a short walk from town -- it was like returning to a hidden oasis after the hustle and bustle of the tourist area (and the pool in back is especially lovely).

The room was beautifully appointed, replete with porch which we made good use of. Breakfast in the morning was the perfect casual way to start the day, and Michael was a wonderfully friendly, helpful, and attentive manager. The place is just so relaxing -- Azul is a gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Corona...the rooms in the back are probably naturally more quiet, although ours th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Charming old house, convenient location and fantastic service. Michael was so helpful--suggesting restaurants that the locals love, attractions that we thoroughly enjoyed, and other hints that made our short trip very special. Our room was tiny yet pleasant, although I would have liked brighter lighting for reading.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Azul Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Key West

Address: 907 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul Key West 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul Key West is a classic Queen Anne mansion listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Three buildings surrounding a sparkling blue pool with tri-level decks overlooking old town and the gardens of Key West. A classy blend of tropical modern and historic, Azul offers off-street parking, breakfast and WI-FI. Just three blocks from Duval Street and a short walk to everything else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Azul Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Key West Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.