We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED CAYO HUESO!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayo Hueso Resorts

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayo Hueso Resorts
513 United Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Schaumburg, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“LOVED CAYO HUESO!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We just returned from what was supposed to be a five night stay at Cayo Heuso cottages, but Tropical Storm Issac cut the visit short. We have stayed in two B & B's in Key West on previous visits, but I just fell in love with Cayo Heuso. We went there to meet up with another couple that was staying at the Southernmost on the Beach, and they said they would much rather be here. We have already discussed coming back and each of us getting cottages. Staying at Cayo Heuso is completely relaxing, charming, and wonderful. Each cottage has a full kitchen, bedroom, living room & bath as well as a deck with table and grill. If you can request the blue cottage, your deck overlooks the pool and the interior is decorated with colors of the ocean.

Joyce and Olga were checking on us each day and made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable. Joyce even offered to stock our refrigerator for us prior to our visit! When we were debating on whether or not we would stay through the Storm, we were provided the keys to the other cottages that were not being occupied just in case we needed to move to another location - seriously, what other type of accommodation would do that! Then when we decided to pack up, Joyce gave us one of the Coleman coolers to put our food & drinks in.

It is so relaxing and enjoyable at Cayo Heuso that the other couple we were with told us their most favorite evening was when we just stayed at the cottage, grilled our dinner and sat by the pool with drinks. We commented several times that we would love to own one of the cottages as a vacation home.

The location is superb - one block to Duval and two blocks to the Southernmost Point with restaurants in every direction. If you rent either of the cottages that face United Street, there is a porch with rocking chairs and you can sit and people watch. The complex is private, quiet and beautifully landscaped. The only small negative is that there is only one dedicated parking spot and if you don't get that one, you have to walk a bit to park behind one of the banks.

We will definitely be back as we have found a wonderful spot with Cayo Hueso!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We really wanted to like this place, and for the most part the cottage and our stay were fine and relaxing. There was something kind of off about it though.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom cottage with living room and kitchen, 1 bath. Although a little cramped, the layout was pretty good for us -- we were with our 5 year old and our infant son, and we were able to room with our son with the portable crib mostly in the closet of the bedroom and our daughter had the LR couch. The main point for us was to have some doors to close.

The chief problem was that the A/C unit in the living room was broken, working sporadically and very difficult to control. One night it got stuck on freezing, then our only option was to turn it all the way off, so our daughter was baking, and we had to open the door to the bedroom to give her a comfortable temperature. That of course made having a door to close beside the point. The owner Joyce's response to our complain was kind of weak, she really didn't go out of her way at all to do anything for us -- she sort of shrugged and said the A/C needed to be replaced, that she planned to do it when the season was slower. Umm, thanks, but where does that leave us?

The cottage as a whole was fine, pretty much clean, although there was a strange smell, kind of like urine mixed with strong cleanser?, when we first checked in. I got used to it and just assumed it was some kind of high-strength cleaner they had used before we got there. The pool was quite nice, and it was great to have nearly sole use of it (4 cottages seem to share it, and only 3 seemed to be occupied during our stay).

The small private deck attached to our unit was occupied by a maintenance/cleaning team doing some repairs the first day mid-morning, when we had hoped to sit outside while our son napped. It wasn't possible to do this because the employees were kind of all spread out in that space, although we made it clear we wanted to use it.

Cayo Hueso was not luxury, but the price you are paying is for the location, which is indeed great, just steps from Duval Street (and the quiet end), and for a relaxed and comfortable lodging. I can kind of see how the owner earned the comments about her being disorganized and a less-than-optimal manager in the two other negative reviews here. I'm mainly puzzled about how the reviews here tipped so starkly positive -- we are pretty laid back and don't need luxury in a place, but for some reason our experience here was less than stellar, and it seems like that wasn't matched in very many people's experiences of this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

A large group stayed at a Cayo Hueso cottage for the weekend. I dont think I have a single complaint. The house was absolutely amazing - very spacious, fully equipped and stocked. Everyone loved it. Joyce was really nice, really responsive and very helpful . The location is great- right by Duval street. (however, all the bars are on the opposite side of duval)

I will stay there every time I go to key west and recommend to everyone..

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I've stayed at this property for the past 10yrs- most of it at the big house but last yr we stayed at the smaller pink house b/c we didn't need as much room. Joyce has always been awesome to work with, treating us like family and Olga is phenomenal! She checks in with me throughout the year to confirm dates and accomodation needs, provides a great welcome basket as well as other goodies in the fridge upon our arrival, is very flexible to work with, and always quick to answer any requests or assist in any way. This is always the first place I recommend to anyone who asks about places to stay in Key West.

It truly feels like my island home!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We are currently staying here (2nd year in a row), and it's perfect! We have a group of 15 and are using the entire compound. Very classy! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I booked all 4 of the Cottages for a large group I was staying with after the Ragnar Relay. It was perfect! The place was clean, the fridge was stocked with snacks, water, and beer and there was plenty of coffee. We spent a lot of time sitting around the pool area talking.... As we stayed in January, I wasn't expecting to need a suit (it had been cold in Florida in the week before our stay) but the pool was heated and got a lot of use by the guys in our group. I cannot think of one thing I would change about our stay. Would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I've stayed @Cayohueso since the mid 90's, referred family and friends and love it! Joyce, the owner, always ensure a clean and memorable experience. You have your own private pool in paradise.
Sandy Ambris

Room Tip: 4 cottages, 3 singles and a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cayo Hueso Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayo Hueso Resorts

Address: 513 United Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty lodging in Key West
Also Known As:
Cayo Hueso Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayo Hueso Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cayo Hueso Resorts to your Saves list