We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cayo Hueso has become my island home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayo Hueso Resorts

Cayo Hueso Resorts
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayo Hueso Resorts
Save
You added Cayo Hueso Resorts to your Saves list
513 United Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Ft Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cayo Hueso has become my island home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I've stayed at this property for the past 10yrs- most of it at the big house but last yr we stayed at the smaller pink house b/c we didn't need as much room. Joyce has always been awesome to work with, treating us like family and Olga is phenomenal! She checks in with me throughout the year to confirm dates and accomodation needs, provides a great welcome basket as well as other goodies in the fridge upon our arrival, is very flexible to work with, and always quick to answer any requests or assist in any way. This is always the first place I recommend to anyone who asks about places to stay in Key West.

It truly feels like my island home!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We are currently staying here (2nd year in a row), and it's perfect! We have a group of 15 and are using the entire compound. Very classy! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I booked all 4 of the Cottages for a large group I was staying with after the Ragnar Relay. It was perfect! The place was clean, the fridge was stocked with snacks, water, and beer and there was plenty of coffee. We spent a lot of time sitting around the pool area talking.... As we stayed in January, I wasn't expecting to need a suit (it had been cold in Florida in the week before our stay) but the pool was heated and got a lot of use by the guys in our group. I cannot think of one thing I would change about our stay. Would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

First, I have never taken the time to write a review because until none have been worth taking the time. I have stayed in 5 star resorts and dives as well, lived in Hawaii, visited the Virgin Islands, Bahamas and many other locations and Cayo Hueso stands out above them all.
We stayed in the pink 2 bedroom cottage and well, it was just perfect. A complimentary welcome basket was provided with snacks and the fridge was stocked with bottled water, soda and beer. We stopped in Key Largo on the way in for groceries and found that many necessities like coffee, sugar for coffee, paper towels, etc were already there.
Olga, the housekeeper, kept our refrigerator stocked, tried to wash our dishes (we denied it) and even folded our laundry!
Joyce came by on our second day to ensure that we were satisfied and that we had everything we needed.
I really cannot say enough about it and if we don't move to Key West first, we will return to Cayo Hueso again...and we are the types that prefer to stay at different places to have multiple experiences; this however, is the exception.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

This was our second of what we hope to be many visits to Cayo Hueso. The cottages are in a perfect location for a family. The gated in compound gives the visitor a sense of security and privacy. The private pools are surrounded by mature landscaping. Having a deck, grill, and kitchen gave us many more options for dining than a Hotel or B&B would have. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This place is definitely well hidden. We would never have looked at this place if we hadn't met Joyce the owner. We met her one night at Mallory Square. She invited us to come check out the place out so we did the next day. The bungalow was great and we decided to stay 1 night. It had everything that we needed. The kitchen was fully equipped. We had the pool to ourselves which was good because it is rather small. The location is perfect, just one block from Duvall St. I wish we could have stayed more than one night. We will definitely stay there next time we travel to Key West.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

I stayed at Cayo Hueso with my wedding party in late March 2010. Though at first, Joyce was difficult to get a hold of (there were extenuating circumstances), she was so nice once we did and was very flexible with my continuously changing plans. Thanks for understanding how complicated weddings can be!

We had the cottage with the private pool which provided us with plenty of privacy and more than enough room. Joyce had the pool warmed up and ready to go when we got there, and one of the couples with us had a baby, so Joyce had all the baby stuff out and ready (there was a brief problem that was fixed promptly). The staff was so friendly and made sure everything was good for our stay. The cottages are in a GREAT location, close to everything without being right on Duval Street with all the noise. What a great and relaxing way to prepare for my wedding!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
0.2 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Hotel
Southernmost Hotel
#9 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayo Hueso Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayo Hueso Resorts

Address: 513 United Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cayo Hueso Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayo Hueso Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.