We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knowles House B&B

Save Saved
You added Knowles House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knowles House B&B
1004 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Belfast, N.Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just a nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

Our family of 6, grandparents, wife and I and two kids (12 & 14) stayed for one night during our Easter vacation. We were booked in by the local resort association and we were delighted when we arrived. Les could not have made us more welcome and our 2 rooms (by the pool and one up stairs) were superb. Very comfortable, very clean and the house was very quiet. Les was the perfect host and had a great way with everyone.
It was nice to meet the other guests and chat with them over breakfast. Hopefully we'll get back to Key West in the future and I would be more than happy to stay there again. Close to all the places to see, easy walking distance. But, far enough away to be peaceful and quiet.

  • Liked — The rooms were superb
  • Disliked — Parking was difficult
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    47
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
274
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond,KY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

We just retruned from a 3 day stay at the Knowles Bed and Breakfast in Key West FL. The accomodations were quaint and lovely. There was nothing you could possibly need that was not available. The room was small but had all the convencies - they had provided all that was needed in a modern day hotel but kept the original (built in 1860 ) flavor of the house. The gentlemen Wes and Paul were so helpful in any aspect we asked. They recommended and made all of our reservations, be it snorkling or meals. There were no disappointing experiences. Their breakfasts were healty with a nice variety of foods and because of the lay out of the porch and poolside area where it was served it made for an intimate environment for the guests. The location of the place was convenient to walk any where and enjoy numerous restaruants and bars and places of historical enjoyment. It was a wonderful stay. The prices in comparison to other similar B&B were very good. We would go back any time and stay with our new friends Paul and Wes . Mike and Marg

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Knowles House. The house is charming and very clean and, as almost all houses in Key West, has an interesting history. Les and Paul, the owners and inn keepers, were terrific. They are one of the reasons our stay in Key West was so pleasant. They were very attentive without being intrusive. They happily made reservations for area restaurants and attractions and answered dozens of questions - some with interesting stories. We really enjoyed the place and would defnitely recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Personal attention from the owners
  • Disliked — somewhat small in size
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Knowles house for our honeymoon. Les and Paul were excellent hosts. They went above and beyond to show their hospitality. The location of the house was in easy walking distance of all attractions on the island. I really liked that the house was a few blocks from Duval ST as Key West can be a noisy place at all hours. We stayed four nights in the Italian room. The house is has a hot tub, a small pool and a sun-deck which we took advantage of daily. Les and Paul will make any reservations for you leaving you nothing to worry about except relaxing and having a good time. The room we stayed in was cleaned regularly and fresh towels were provided daily, more than once per day if needed. Breakfast was served on the patio outdoors every morning where we were able to read the morning paper and chat with the other guests. The Knowles House has a cat that lives in the backyard but does not approach guests as he is well trained. The house and the rooms are smaller than most other B&B's that I have stayed at however I would stay at the Knowles again and recommend it to any friends and family planning a trip to Key West. My wife and I are looking forward to staying there again in the future!

  • Liked — Owners and Location
  • Disliked — size
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

My mom, sister and I headed to Key West on a long overdue "girls getaway" and the Knowles House was the perfect retreat!

The innkeepers, Les and Paul, were perfect hosts and we have nothing but fantastic things to say about our stay. They were always more than happy to help us arrange exursions and transportation and also recommended some great restaurants! Anything we needed was just a simple "please" away!

We stayed in the "Malibu Room," which had 1 King and 1 Daybed and opened to the patio area. The room was super clean with soft sheets, fluffy pillows, cold A/C, and full size bathroom/shower.

We took full advantage of all the amenities the Knowles House had to offer including the pool (very small, but so refreshing after a HOT day!), Jacuzzi tub, sundeck, private outdoor shower (we loved it so much!!!), and the fantastic breakfasts, which varied everyday. The homemade Banana Nut Bread was to DIE for!!!

Overall. . . a simply wonderful stay!

  • Liked — great personal service and amenities
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

We had a great stay at the Knowles House. We were very appreciative of the knowledge of the area, guidance of the area and even reservations made. We were really just looking for a place to sleep so the guidance/information was an added bonus. The room and bathroom were clean and it was nicely off the beaten path of downtown to actually make you feel like you were going home at night. Les and Paul were so nice and it truly was like staying with friends.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tosa, wi
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

Knowles House has gotten a bad review from some travelers. I would like to let everyone know what an excellent stay we had here.

Check-in with Les was smooth and painless. He briefly showed us around the house, the pool area, outdoor shower, and free beverages (both alcoholic and non-alcohlic) and snack fridge. He took us to our room and gave us each a key. Then he got us a glass of wine and let us relax on our own.

The room was gorgeous (Tropical Room) and very clean. Pool towels and robes were provided. The rooms were cleaned daily. The air conditioner worked well (looked brand new). We turned it off when we left the room and found that he had turned it back on because it was so hot outside. That was fine with us, as we would have fried if he had not turned it back on. The room also had a nice color cable TV with remote.

The pool area and outside porch were beautiful. It was clean and comfortable. There was even a clothing optional sun deck on the second floor. The fridge was filled with different beers, soda, water and snacks.

The pool was smaller, but more than enough for a cooling dip. It was kept at around 84 degrees. The six person hot tub was set at 102 degrees. Both were very clean and available 24 hours a day (unlike hotels). The outdoor shower was private and refreshing.

Breakfast was an expanded conntinental, served poolside from 8:30-11. There was always an assotrtment of bagels, breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, eggs, etc. Very good selection and tasty. Breakfast kept us full until dinner.

Along with our room, we got a passport that included free admission for the Conch Train, several museums, the aquarium, and shopping discounts. The stay also included a sunset cruise or snorkeling. We chose the sunset cruise. It was amazing. Also helpful were the homemade, color-coded maps they made for us and the other coupons for restaurants, stores, attractions, etc.

Overall, the service and other amenities proved to be an excellent value. We also made some friends from our stay. I would highly recommend a stay at this bed and breakfast!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knowles House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knowles House B&B

Address: 1004 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Knowles House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knowles House Bed And Breakfast
Knowles House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knowles House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.