We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST - service, location, charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knowles House B&B

Save Saved
You added Knowles House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knowles House B&B
1004 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Park Ridge, Illinois, United States
1 review
“The BEST - service, location, charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We loved it! Knowles House was everything I had hoped for - and I spent a long time looking. Charming, Key West, laid back. Perfect location being in walking distance of everything - but bike rentals are handy down the block.l Christine was beyond fabulous - fun, knowledgable, excellent recommendations. Our room was perfect - right off the pool. Loved the breakfast, lots of options for a healthy start to the day - granted - did not always stay healthy the rest of the day! Great being near the harbor - more locals go there so you got to see different people and bars. WIll definately be back - and will only stay at Knowles House. And you can take the rubber duckies in for a swim whenever you want!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    48
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
285
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Knowles is a nice B&B - laid back, parking can be an issue
we recommend palm avenue - we had some incidents (damages by the locals) at other locations . The room we got nr 3 is very small but you are not on the keys to admire your room . Breakfast is ok . we had not time to use the jacuzzi or the small pool ;-)
One block down you can rent bikes which I would recommend since it makes moving around nicer. It is very close to Duval street and the nicer harbour section .
Beach best use a bike or car walking is quite far .
Breakfast is basic but good . We liked the old interior and the atmosphere of the house
Staff (Christine) was friendly and gave good advice .
Rooms a re quiet. Only small downside I would mention is the fact we could not control our airco.

Room Tip: none basically all 8 rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Knowles House was simply outstanding!!! Just a few short blocks north of Duval Street and perfectly nestled in the Old Town of Key West. Our rooms were spacious, clean and charming. Christine took care of all our needs!!!!! Booking excursions and excellent restaurant recommendations;) everyone was genuine and friendly to me and my girl during our stay. Would definitely stay @ the Knowles House again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWInnkeepers, Manager at Knowles House B&B, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for writing such a wonderful review. With just 2 blocks from the historic seaport and 5 block from Duval Street, you are in the heart with a short walk to your favorite highlight! We live, work and play in Key West and are so happy to reccommend our favorite places..and hopefully, next time we welcome you back, we'll show you new favorites!
Please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Knowles house is a B&B with character and history. It is the perfect place to stay for someone who wants to stay in a traditional Conch House to soak up the history of the island as well as be close enough to Duval and Marina to be able to get in on the town's buzzing nightlife and restaurants. (It's not too close though- we had no noise problems at night!)

Les, Paul and Christina had the perfect blend of friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism. We had a warm welcome, help with booking and planning activities for our stay. Knowles House was very sociable, we had long breakfasts and lots of cups of coffee with our fellow guests.

I would highly recommend Knowles House to anyone planning to visit Key West.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWInnkeepers, Manager at Knowles House B&B, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time, writing such a great review and for recommending us!
This really is a wonderful home filled with character, the history of the Knowles family and original woodwork throughout. Key West is such a wonderful place to be, filled with rich history, land and sea activities, wonderful restaurants and a vibrant nightlife. It is our absolute pleasure to help you have the best experiences in Key West. We make it a point to spend time with you to find out what your interests are so we can offer the best possible suggestions...and we love doing it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosberry
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was a wonderful time at this fabulous Inn. Christina is A+ in hospitality. She anticipates your every need.
Our room was clean, beautiful and very spacious. The Inn's location allows you to walk to the waterfront and the many restaurants and attractions on Duval Street.
Great breakfast selection too!
The Knowles House certainly is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWInnkeepers, Manager at Knowles House B&B, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. From the moment you walk through our doors, we welcome you with open arms (and a cocktail!) and promise to do our best to pamper and cherish you throughout your stay. Afterall, you are our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Two positives for this stay...Christine, the hostess, and our nice room. Christine was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was pretty, spacious and clean.
Two of the negatives...
1. no parking onsite (Park long enough to load and unload and then have to park on the street. We did find a free space about two blocks away.)
2. breakfast - very sparce, nothing like any B&B breakfast we've experienced (Hard boiled eggs were our source of protein. Had to peel them on our plate and then no way to rinse off the pieces of egg shell.) There were also very few tables.

Room Tip: The downstairs front bedroom was very nice! It has a private (and secure) front door entrance that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWInnkeepers, Owner at Knowles House B&B, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Although you were only with us one night, we enjoyed meeting you and tried to make your brief time in Key West enjoyable. I am glad that you were happy with your room and appreciated the efforts of are manager, Christina, to make you feel at home. We are very sorry that you found the parking inconvenient. The truth is that Key West is a small town densely built-up with historic buildings. In fact, as you saw, virtually every lot in the town is filled with an authentic 19th century building -- there just are no vacant lots that can be used for surface parking. That is what makes Key West one of the most beautiful historic towns in America. As a result, practically none of the approximately 65 B&Bs in Old Town Key West can offer on-site parking for all of their guests. Just so you know, many of us Key Westers who own houses and live in Old Town, including me, also have to park on the street, since many of the private residential lots are too small to even accommodate one parking space. We consider it a small price to pay to live in one of America's truly special places. As you noted, we offer registration parking, but the overnight parking is on the street. It is free and unrestricted and relatively abundant in our area. Our guests typically do not need to use their cars after they check-in at Knowles House, since they can walk to all of the attractions, most do not find this to be a hardship. If you really require off-street parking, a modern, multi-story, public parking structure with reasonable rates is located only half a block from Knowles House.

We also failed to meet your requirements for breakfast and for that we are also sorry. About 15 years ago, after being in business awhile, we decided that a generous breakfast buffet offered over a long period of time would serve the majority of our guests needs best. It became apparent that most of our guests did not desire or require a hot-cooked breakfast served at a set time, as is typically the case at the type of traditional country inn type B&Bs that you are familiar with. Typically our guests just aren't big breakfast eaters -- perhaps because of Key West's warm tropical climate -- or are either sleeping late after a festive night out or are going out early for a morning of snorkeling, fishing, kayaking, parasailing or sailing. Knowles House is located very close to the harbor where all of these activities depart from and choose us because of this proximity. As a result, we opted to serve a buffet from 8:30 - 11 AM that includes hot & cold cereals, bakery products (bread, English muffins, assorted bagels, pastry), hard-boiled eggs, cheese, fruit, yogurt and a variety of juices. Our breakfast seems to work well for most people, but we know that one-size doesn't fit all, so we cheerfully direct guests that would prefer otherwise to one of the five restaurants located within a few blocks of Knowles House B&B -- one only 4 houses away -- that serve excellent traditional hot-cooked breakfasts made to order.

Although we did not check all of the boxes on your list, we are happy that you were satisfied with your room and our hospitality and that your stay at Knowles House B&B did not detract from your enjoyment of Key West, because, I think that you would agree, on-site parking or no on-site parking, Key West is a wonderful place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Knowles House for the weekend. What a great time. Bubbly Christina (the managing innkeeper) welcomed us with a smile. The room was spacious, clean and perfectly decorated.

We were fortunate enough to meet Paul and Les, the owners of the Inn. Great people, good times. They have a way of making you feel very welcome. An awesome location. Just steps from Turtle Kraals, the Key West express boat, and a stroll down the boardwalk to Duval street.

Thanks, we will be back!
Annette and Judy

Room Tip: Pick the Paris room of you can. Quiet, and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knowles House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knowles House B&B

Address: 1004 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knowles House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knowles House Bed And Breakfast
Knowles House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knowles House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.