We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best week ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knowles House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Knowles House B&B to your Saves list
Knowles House B&B
1004 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
San Angelo, Texas, United States
1 review
“Best week ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After spending a few weeks searching online for a nice B&B off the beaten path I couldn’t find any negative reviews of Knowles House. Well we can honestly say that after spending a week with them it was everything we were hoping for and more. Christina is such a wonderful host and we made some great friends while staying there. We will definitely be staying there again on our next visit.
Les, Paul, and Christina thank you again for having us. Staying with you was some of the best part of our vacation.

Thomas & Carolina

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    51
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
293
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Knowles B&B was a wonderful, comfortable, warm and friendly place to stay while in Key West. Christina was absolutely wonderful, accommodating and extremely helpful! Even though the pool is small, it felt great to go between the jacuzzi and pool and feel so relaxed. The courtyard around the pool is so relaxing and a great place to meet the other guests during breakfast or just having drinks before going out for dinner. We would definitely return there and recommend to anyone considering a Key West visit.
Thanks so much Christina for making our time there so comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Me and my friend Carmen stayed in this place for two nights at the begin of August. It's wonderful. The room was big, the bathroom aswell, and it has all the conforts you need; shampoo, showergel, handsoap, towels (even those for the beach!!!!!!), make up remover napkins, everything! The breakfast was delicious, with a wide bread choice.. Les and Paul are two kind people, the gave us all we needed. I hope to see them again beacause we had a very great time.
Simona and Carmen from Sorrento

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWInnkeepers, Owner at Knowles House B&B, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you ladies for the compliment, but you are the wonderful ones. It was such a delight having you with us. Knowing that you are in Sorrento, Italy, one of our favorite places in the world, makes us want to go there and stay at your B&B. Thank you again for gracing our little tropical hideaway with you Italian charm and spirit of fun and adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Knowles House! It was like being at a house party. Christina and all the guests that we met were fantastic, enthusiastic and great fun. Having had some not so good experiences in the past we were delighted to have such a warm welcome, and a small but perfectly formed room, the French room, which was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Will we stay there again? You betcha! We have already recommended Knowles House to people and plan to stay longer next time we get over from UK. Thanks for a great stay.
Julia and Clive

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWInnkeepers, Manager at Knowles House B&B, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We really are the lucky ones. What is quite common here is lovely people (like you two!) walking through these doors. However, It's not very often that we have people come through these doors and immediately sit down with the other delightful guests in the garden and pool area (who just happened to be returning guests with us for several years), been offered a drink, laugh & tell travel stories, all before even seeing your room and getting officially checked in!
All we did was open the door and say "Welcome, we're glad you're here". We meant it and you took it to heart. We are so glad you stayed and we want you to know you will always have friends here at Knowles House. Keep having fun! - Les & Paul and Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This B&B was the the best accom we had in our whole Florida trip!!! And it was a very good price!!!
This two absolut nice, charming and professionel men were so helpful in everything we asked! They knew all the good restaurant, the best way to walk etc etc! It was so nice we felt like a big family wirh all the guests.
The breakfast was really good, fresh fruits, yogurt and all the other stuff. Beer and wine as much as we liked for free!!
The rooms very clean and all little needs(bandaids, make up remover etc)
were there. There was an extra outside shower who gaves us en exotic feeling.
the only thing who maybe isn't for someone like Michael Phelps, the Pool is really little, but for a cooling down still perfect.
We loved this place. Thanks to Les and Paul!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

For my son's 16th birthday we hit Key West. I was able to make reservations at the Knowles House B&B online about a week before traveling without any issues. The B&B is very comfortable and the owners, Les & Paul, went out of their way to accommodate us. We did not have any set agenda but with Les' and Paul's help, we were off on multiple adventures, tours and sightseeing trips. We especially enjoyed relaxing on the patio, soaking in the spa and chilling in the pool after returning from Duval Street.

We loved the place and will stay there again with the whole family next time.

OK, time for the nitty-gritty... (Obligatory criticisms)

Only two small issues:
* Small TV not in a terribly comfortable location on top of the armoire but had all the channels, was a flat-screen with great picture and sound. Could be remedied with a tilt.
* Bathtub had a crack in the center which was covered by a tub mat. This was not a problem for my son as he used the outdoor shower everyday.

I could go on about how much we enjoyed the B&B but the bottom line is - stay there, you will be happy.

Room Tip: Patio rooms are quiet and peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWInnkeepers, Owner at Knowles House B&B, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
You and your son are just a great duo. It isn't always that we get a father and teenage son who get along so well. It is a gift, treasure it. Everyone enjoyed your humor and company, including us. We hope to see you again. Actually, after meeting you and your son, we are anxious to meet your wife and daughter. I bet that they are great too!

As for the crack in the tub, it happened just before you checked-in. We knew about it, but there wasn't anyway to immediately fix it -- it is a fiberglass tub and not easily or quickly repaired -- and we didn't have anywhere else to put you guys. We did not want to spoil your vacation at the last minute. We determined that the crack was not a danger to our guests and just decided to brazen it out, since what ever water leaked through the crack was not going to do any real harm until we could get it fixed. I am truly sorry; I should have told you what that was all about. As for the TV, thanks for your suggestion. Since I don't watch TV in that room, I didn't realize that it was uncomfortable to watch. We have remedied that. We appreciate your telling us. We really want to make Knowles House as nice as we can for great people like you. Please come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It was the second year I've gone to Key West for my birthday and first time we stayed at Knowles House...I'm hoping to make this trip an annual birthday event and we will never stay anywhere else! Such hospitality...we love Les and Paul!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWInnkeepers, Owner at Knowles House B&B, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the kind words, but it was as much fun for us as it was for you. Please come back to see us and you don't have to wait until your next birthday. You are more than welcome at Knowles House anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knowles House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knowles House B&B

Address: 1004 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Knowles House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knowles House Hotel Key West
Knowles House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knowles House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.