We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Antique Doll House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost House

Save Saved
You added Southernmost House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1400 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“Charming Antique Doll House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just wanted to say "Thank you"!! We loved our time spent at your Southernmost House..although we were unable to stay long..we will definitely be back & recommend it to others!
My husband & myself are in the Photography & Hair/Makeup Artistry business.
We both get to travel to a lot of places, so we definitely compare along the way.
Our room was very quaint..Loved opening the doors out the pool area..stunning views!
The staff was extremely welcoming & helpful. We felt like we were staying with friends. I can't say how much I loved the "Doll House" as I refer too it.
If you love history, anything vintage, & appreciation of a great staff...you must go!
Special "Thanks" to the Inn Keeper, She Rocks!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Southernmost House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
A doll house and memorable experiences are exactly the experiences we expect our guests to have. The detail and seamless service are cornerstones to our success and we pride ourselves in showcasing our property on a daily basis. The antique history of the Southernmost House is unique to Key West and our surroundings. We look forward to your return visit!

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0203
jasoncarter@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    53
    17
    14
    14
See reviews for
26
183
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have stayed in numerous places in the Keys, but decided to try Key West for our second anniversary. We asked for and received a room on the second floor with an awesome view of the ocean. We found this Victorian bed and breakfast to be rich with history and architecture. For us, it was the best of both worlds - quiet and peaceful on the southern end of Duval Street, but a short walk north on Duval to the restaurants, night clubs, and museums. We found the Southernmost House staff to be courteous and friendly. Ted at the front desk was especially helpful with directions and dining suggestions. Innkeeper Kadi talked with us for quite a while about the locale and history of the building. Our stay was fun and relaxing. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Any ocean view is great, but no elevator may be a challenge for some with very heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was my second visit to the Southermost House and it was just as amazing the second time around. This hotel has THE BEST pool my friends and I have ever used. It's clean, chlorine-free, and extra bouyant. There's nothing like lounging in the deep end of the pool and looking out at the ocean, only a few yards away.The Innkeeper, Kadi, treated all five of us like queens the entire 5 days we were there. Each day when we came back to our rooms there was some thoughtful token from Kadi, to make our trip even more special and memorable. Kadi's recommendations for restaurants were always EXCATLY what we were looking for and always top-notch. The location (the south end of Duval St.) is extremely convenient and quiet, and when we didn't feel like walking it was no biggie because there are always taxi's and pedi-cabs patrolling the immediate area.

I will definitely recommend the Southernmost House to anyone going to Key West. And I'll also long for my own next visit...

Room Tip: The cabana rooms by the pool are wonderful; quiet and yet convenient to the fabulous pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was looking for a hotel in Key West to spend my birthday, wanted a quiet place but close to where the action is (Duval street) . After reading all the reviews,i chose to stay at the Southernmost House. Amazing experience! It is right in old Key West at the end of the main street Duval, and yet very quiet. If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is the place! I would not stay anywhere else!

Great location, amazing historic mansion with a fantastic view, quiet.The bedroom was very comfortable, bed with a duvet, comfortable pillows, they even had a refrigerator with bottles of water, sheets and towels thick and soft, Breakfast was a continental type of breakfast with fresh fruits, bagels, scones, yogourt and other items (not a hot breakfast, light european type). Outside chairs near swimming pools were new, very comfortable. Our room had a wonderfull ocean view with a balcony. The only thing is being a B&B the walls are a little thin compare to the hotels chains and the bathroom even though very nice was small.

The inkeeper Kadi is so wonderfull! We will definitely go back there next year. It was just a wonderfull experience. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view, it is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful property. Well run by the staff who are very attentive. The pool and the ocean view are unlike any in Key West. I have stayed at the house multiple times and have never been disappointed. Perfect for romantic getaways or girlfriend trips!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Recently had a girls trip to the Southernmost House. It was absolutely wonderful. This was our second trip to the Southernmost House and we hope to go again soon. The innkeeper Kodi was an absolute joy and attended to our every need, the entire staff was very respectful and delightful. I was in room 107 which is absolutely perfect location on the property. Room was very spacious, wonderful king size bed, and beautiful decor. The water front pool and bar are absolutely devine. The area has lounge chairs, hammocks and tables by the pool and on the water. The pool was spotless each day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I recently traveled from North Carolina to Key West, Florida for a vacation with four friends. We spent four nights at the Southernmost House, and it was absolutely stunning. I stayed in an incredible suite, complete with a living room, kitchen, bed room and bath. To say the room was luxurious would be an understatement. There was a fantastic porch right outside my room with a fantastic view of the ocean.

The staff was amazing. Kadi and her staff treated us like royalty. They went out of their way to make sure that we had everything that we needed, and checked on us throughout our stay to ask if we needed information about local sights and restaurants, or just to make sure that we were comfortable. The housekeeping staff were friendly, efficient and prompt, and kept our rooms spotless. The bartenders at the poolside cabana bar were friendly and helpful, and made a mean "Fruity Yum Yum" (a frozen concoction we invented of mango, strawberry and orange vodka that we drank by the gallon!)

We wanted to spend some time exploring the island, but we had way too much fun at the Southernmost House to want to leave! We wound up spending our days by the pool, enjoying the the beautiful atmosphere, as well as the company of the other guests and local visitors who were incredibly entertaining. I just can't say enough about the pool. It was incredible. The pool was spotlessly clean, the water warm and inviting, and the scenery was gorgeous.

The location was perfect. The Southernmost House is located at the quiet end of Duval Street, just a short walk from all of the popular tourist spots. Each evening we walked down Duval, where we found a wide variety of choices for dining and entertainment. It was really nice being within walking distance to the fun bars and restaurants, but it was also pretty great to be far enough away from all of the action so that we were never bothered by rowdy crowds or noise.

I travel often for both business and pleasure, and I can honestly say that I have never had an experience to equal my stay at the Southernmost House. The beautiful architecture, wonderful amenities, friendly and helpful staff and incredibly view made this vacation one of my favorite trips ever. I just can't recommend this amazing facility highly enough. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed if you stay at this beautiful resort. My friends and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
Quiet, Pool, Mi...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Hotel
Southernmost Hotel
#8 of 41 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 41 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Char...
Show More
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#20 of 41 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,640 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#7 of 98 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost House

Address: 1400 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southernmost House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated setting at ocean's edge, The Southernmost House stands out as Key West's most striking oceanfront bed and breakfast, with 18 spacious, exquisitely appointed, air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Refresh in the cool water of a glistening zero-entry pool as you gaze out at the infinite sea. Enjoy peaceful moments soaking in the sun and a delightful complimentary breakfast. Stroll down Duval Street, towards all the spirit and character that embodies Key West's laissez-faire persona. The Southernmost House is located just footsteps away from Old Town Key West attractions, restaurants & bars, shops and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Southernmost House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.