We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost House to your Saves list
Southernmost House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1400 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Southernmost House on the ocean and it was such a wonderful experience. The grounds are beautiful, the service is excellent. It was such an incredible feeling to be able to enjoy such a beautiful property. The staff at the hotel was marvelous made our welcome so wonderful! The inkeeper Kadi oh wow don't have words to tell you what a wonderful person she is. Whole staff was respectful, full of wonderful energy and always make sure the service was incredbible and always made you fell welcome.

Thank you to Kadi and the staff and a special thanks to Ms. Mel Stuart whom did all our travel arrangements; what a lovely lady. Southernmost is very lucky to have both Ms. Staurt and Kadi.

Can not wait to return with my family!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    61
    19
    14
    16
See reviews for
26
208
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having relocated from another hotel we were LUCKY to find ourselves at The Southernmost House. From the first meeting with Kadi and her staff we were pampered and the treatment we received turned a potential bad experience into a lifelong memory. We had a beautiful room with wonderful views in a stunning location.

Thanks again to Kadi and her excellent tea.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house on the third floor and these can only be accessed via two flights of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Southernmost House was a great place to stay. We usually stay in larger hotels but this time our friends picked the spot.... and we are glad they did. We really enjoyed the stay and the history surrounding this spot. The staff took great care of us and were always available for questions, directions, suggestions or to get us a drink, towel, chair or whatever....
I woke up early every morning and walked out by the pool to watch the sunrise. Plenty of seating by the pool and down by the ocean as well. A couple of hammocks between the beach, pool and the bar became my favorite spot.
Breakfast was included and they left it out until 10:30 every morning so we were able to go out for a run and eat a bit later every day.
Right off Duval street so easy access to all the "spots"... La Te Da bar a couple blocks away was fun and great people watching. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked great. We stayed in room 104 which is a separate small house all of its own.. it had extra room in the den with a full refrigerator so our room became the gathering place for drinks before we'd head out each night.
One last note... if you go to Key West.. you have to eat at The Flaming Bouy.... Fantastic Food!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I found this hotel on an internet search. The web site was well constructed and included some great pictures of the hotel and surroundings. I was looking for something different for my honeymoon. It turned out to be the best and most romantic experience of my life.

The staff was very helpful and gave us some great tips on activities and restaurants. Housekeeping staff did a great job as well. I could not be happier with the service.

My new wife and I fell in love with Key West. It was a great choice for a romantic get-away location. The life style and people were very interesting. Everyone made us feel welcome and at home. A note to add is that the month of September is a great time to book Key West. The crowds are not there in the numbers of other times of the year. There is a chance of a passing shower but they are just that. The temperatures are very moderate.

I give this location and the Southernmost House my highest recommendations. We will book Southernmost House again next year for our first anniversary.

Room Tip: The beach view rooms are worth a little extra cost. The view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

On our way to the southernmost point, we stopped at this B&B to take some quick pics. Seeing as how it is on every tourist map I thought we should see it. As I was taking pictures the inn keeper came out and basically told us to leave unless we were staying there. Obviously it was rude and it rubbed me wrong. I'm sure tourist stop by all the time to see it, and seeing as how they make their living off tourist , you think she would have been nicer!
My advice to any tourist who may stop by.....don't! You just might get yelled at.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadi637, General Manager at Southernmost House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Christina S., We pride ourselves on being friendly and the Southernmost House has visitors every day take pictures on our front porch and they respect the privacy and security of our guests who stay at the Southernmost House. In your excitement to take pictures you and your family ran up the stairs leading to a private porch area of a guest room. We advised you that it was a private area and that we were a Bed and Breakfast and that our guests had complained of visitors coming up to their private porch areas and were startled when strangers appear on the stairs. It is a delicate balancing act to be welcoming to visitors and to keep the privacy and security of our guests at the same time. We apologize that you felt we did not want visitors taking picture... Actually we often assist in taking pictures for our visitors so everyone can be in the picture on the porch of the Southernmost House. Kadi Kay - Innkeeper Southernmost House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Key West and my wife and I could not have picked a more perfect location to stay. The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The staff amazing and accomodating with suggestions for dinner and side trips. It was a wonderful 5 day getaway. We will definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here on our next trip to Key West.
Bill Langlands

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A truly relaxing and wonderful place where staff is great, accomodations superior but the view and ambience are unbeatable. Close to attractions, restaurants but at the quiet end of Duval St., which is the main entertainment venue in Key West. The staff really enjoyed giving you special service and made my wife and I feel "special" but they made everyone feel that way. A great place to unwind or spend some special time.

Room Tip: choose the one with the private balcony or a pool side bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost House

Address: 1400 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southernmost House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated setting at ocean's edge, The Southernmost House stands out as Key West's most striking oceanfront bed and breakfast, with 18 spacious, exquisitely appointed, air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Refresh in the cool water of a glistening zero-entry pool as you gaze out at the infinite sea. Enjoy peaceful moments soaking in the sun and a delightful complimentary breakfast. Stroll down Duval Street, towards all the spirit and character that embodies Key West's laissez-faire persona. The Southernmost House is located just footsteps away from Old Town Key West attractions, restaurants & bars, shops and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Southernmost House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.