We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a peaceful getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory

Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory
1316 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
305-296-2988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 188 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a peaceful getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was one of our rainy day activities. We really enjoyed it. It was a nice peaceful break where we got a chance to just relax. There was a wide variety of birds, butterflies and fish to observe. They had lots of orchids as well. There wasn’t a guide or anyone to inform you to tell you about the butterflies, but we were okay to be left alone. The conservatory isn’t very large, so take your time walking through. They have a gazebo you can just sit in. You can also usually find a coupon in one of the island coupon books, or establishments so don’t pay full price!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,377
    940
    166
    29
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can a guy enjoy this? Surprisingly, yes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The butterflies are beautiful and it was almost like a Disney cartoon as they fly all about you, sometimes landing on you. Watch your feet as butterflies are not the only inhabitants including birds and turtles. Nice change of pace.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nicely laid out area with really exotic collection. They also have an area that shows the various species in various stages of development so you get some information on the thousands of butterflies flitting around you.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cool Break from the KW heat !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Zen comes to mind. I don't know what that really is but you can find it here. It is so CHILL, both in temp and vibs. We live on Pine Key and have taken guest and friends there. A very nice break in the day. Don't be afraid to ask for a family or local discount. What can it hurt.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Spectacularly beautiful & kinda nerve-wracking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Such an interesting attraction! From the educational exhibit at the start of the conservatory to the live habitat, it was a wonderfully engaging experience for my 7 yr old daughter & myself. Definitely not for the faint of flying insects because there are butterflies EVERYWHERE! I was kinda nervous that I may hurt one & was a bit jumpy at first, but after a butterfly gently fluttered to my daughter's hand and then gently fluttered away, we were in awe. The "nursery" is kinda creepy (some of those cocoons are a little scary looking!), but my daughter was REALLY into this attraction, as was I!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.