We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can a guy enjoy this? Surprisingly, yes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory

Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory
1316 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
305-296-2988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Southlake, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can a guy enjoy this? Surprisingly, yes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The butterflies are beautiful and it was almost like a Disney cartoon as they fly all about you, sometimes landing on you. Watch your feet as butterflies are not the only inhabitants including birds and turtles. Nice change of pace.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,907
    801
    142
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nicely laid out area with really exotic collection. They also have an area that shows the various species in various stages of development so you get some information on the thousands of butterflies flitting around you.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool Break from the KW heat !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Zen comes to mind. I don't know what that really is but you can find it here. It is so CHILL, both in temp and vibs. We live on Pine Key and have taken guest and friends there. A very nice break in the day. Don't be afraid to ask for a family or local discount. What can it hurt.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Spectacularly beautiful & kinda nerve-wracking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Such an interesting attraction! From the educational exhibit at the start of the conservatory to the live habitat, it was a wonderfully engaging experience for my 7 yr old daughter & myself. Definitely not for the faint of flying insects because there are butterflies EVERYWHERE! I was kinda nervous that I may hurt one & was a bit jumpy at first, but after a butterfly gently fluttered to my daughter's hand and then gently fluttered away, we were in awe. The "nursery" is kinda creepy (some of those cocoons are a little scary looking!), but my daughter was REALLY into this attraction, as was I!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I will be honest....I just wanted to get out of the heat! It was so hot and the hop on and off bus had a couple dollars off so seeing the butterfly conservatory was a great idea. We turned out to be pleasantly surprised from the moment we walked in the butterfly garden area. Big, beautiful butterfly's of all colors and sizes flying all around us and the cutest little birds running around your feet, and two adorable baby flamingos that they just acquired. We were snapping pictures and video left and right. It was really great to see all the children's reactions to the butterfly's also. If you have children this is a must do, but even as adults we enjoyed it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.