We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret garden!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory

Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory
1316 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
305-296-2988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 82 Attractions in Key West
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Secret garden!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I love this little attraction!! Beautiful butterflies everywhere! Everybody was very friendly. When you walk in its honestly like a secret garden!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,651
    726
    122
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful place to go to relax among the butterflies and tropical plants. There is also a pond with amazing fish, turtles, exotic birds, and miniature quails. Although relatively small, there are places to sit down and just enjoy the serenity of the place while soothing music plays in the background. Also, for the learner, prior to entering the conservatory, informational videos and reading material is provided. Overall, great place to visit and relatively cheap with a coupon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Butterflies (and Birds)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Visited here on a gorgeous Key West morning not knowing what to expect. It was beautiful. There are many varieties of butterflies, some beautiful birds - look closely - a stream that runs through the center, gorgeous foliage, even some turtles. Make sure to take a camera. You are walking among the buttterflies and some might land on you! Lovely gift shop with very helpful staff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We almost didn't make time to see this attraction, but I'm really glad we did. It was cooler than I expected it would be to see all these butterflies amid a gorgeous landscape and babbling brook... all indoors! The staff answered my husband's many questions and they were extremely helpful. Definitely take the time to see this attraction when visiting Key West.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Key West butterfly conservatory is somewhere i feel gets forgotten about sometimes and not enough credit and publicity around key west! Its amazing, one of the best places ive ever been! On a family holiday there, me and my mum had planned to go and ended up dragging my dad along. Mum and I were really looking forward to it and dad, well he wasn't overly excited, but when he got there and into the conservatory he loved it. Theres hundred of butterflies flying around, different species of birds, even these little ones that didnt fly but were chubby and walked around, the cacoons of the butterflies are on show with the stages of metamorphosis visible to see happening infront of your eyes, and even some koi carp in a pond and some turtles! Having all these butterflies zooming around is one of the best experiances ever, its a really calm environment too so if your stressed then i urge you to go there, its so relaxing and stress free! Over all its an amazing place and i highly recommend it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.