We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Butterfly Conservatory Is A Winner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory

Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory
1316 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
305-296-2988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 187 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Butterfly Conservatory Is A Winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is an affordable attraction that you do not want to miss. My wife and I visited the conservatory last December and had a wonderful time. The butterflies and the plant life are stunning. If you attend this attraction plan to spend 1-2 hours as there is a lot of information to take in, a gift shop to browse, and of course the conservatory itself to wander through and take photos of. We highly recommend this attraction.

Enrights
Columbus, OH

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,365
    940
    165
    29
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln Park
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“A neat little escape on Duval Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had gotten discount addmission tickets on our trolly tour and decided to visit the buterly house. WOW! What a nice little escape. They had a tremendous amount of very cool butterflys and flowers on display. Even my husband enjoyed our time visiting the butterflys. We walked through slowly and took lots of pictures. The best part was the display of cacoons and some butterflys that were just emerging. Even the gift shop was wonderful. I could have spent the whole day in there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loads of butterflies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Have been to several butterfly exhibits and this one has many different butterflies and they are very active. Beautiful plants make a wonderful environment. Great gift shop. It was peak season and a little crowded but enjoyable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW WINDSOR
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“A closer look at the beauty of nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We sat and watched the video detailing the life of a butterfly and didn't really know what was next. We stepped into the Butterfly garden (yes it's warm) and we were amazed. It seems like hundreds of the little critters are all over the place..A photographer's delight...A splendid walk meanders throught the garden complete with butterfly benches. Little birds roam the waters and flowers. We spent more than an hour walking, sitting and watching. If you visit Key West, be sure and have a brew at Sloppy Joes' and then take the Trolley to the Butterfly Garden...It is wonderful

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My Wife likes it, okay I do too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wasn't sure I would enjoy this place, but was pleasantly suprised. It is a really calm and relaxing place to spend an hour walking through an indoor garden, surrounded by butterflies and birds of all types. The colors and patterns are amazing, and they have some of the biggest butterflies you have ever seen(some bigger than your hand). My wife was wandering around with a big smile on her face, so I asked her "So do you like it here?" She said "Someday can we live in a house that has something like this?"I asked why. She said"Because how could you ever have a bad day, when you could walk through here whenever you wanted!"LMAO!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.