We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not walkable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albury Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albury Court Hotel to your Saves list
Albury Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1030 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer Get Free Fun
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, but not walkable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was my first trip to Key West and this hotel was the closest to Duval St without being too expensive. Although some reviews have said that it is within walking distance to Duval, it is a bit far to walk in the heat. Nonetheless, it was fairly close and only a short and inexpensive cab ride. The staff was extremely friendly and the room was nice. We had a room facing the street and if I was sensitive to noise it would have been a problem as Eaton is a fairly busy street. Nice continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    186
    77
    31
    29
See reviews for
40
265
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

PROS: At around $180 a night, it was cheaper than most places we found in Key West.The continental breakfast and coffee in the morning was decent. It is expensive to eat out in Key West so saving money on breakfast and coffee was definitely a perk. They had a variety of carbs, cereals, fruit, yogurt and lots of coffee! The bed was super comfortable and our stay was surprisingly quiet. The AC worked well and got cold :) The towels and linens were clean and freshly bleached. The location was good; Duval Street, The Marina and Southernmost point were all within a 10-15 min walking distance.

CONS: Storage space was definitely lacking; no countertops, hooks or shelving in the bathroom to put toiletries and only a few tiny pegs on one wall in the room to hang clothing from. Despite having our "service please" sign on the door bright and early for our room to be cleaned, they did not clean our room for two days and on the second afternoon we finally had to ask the front desk if someone could please clean our room. The carpeting needed to be cleaned, it would leave your feet dirty if you walked on it barefoot. One day we had a trail of ants in the kitchenette area...

Overall, not bad but not great...If you are on a tight budget, just looking for a place to crash after after a night of partying, a hot cup of coffee in the morning and don't mind wearing wrinkly clothes or storing your toothbrush on the top of the toilet, this is your place. Next time we visit, we'll spend the extra $20-40 per night for somewhere that has more amenities, better service and cleaner rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

It was our first time to the Keys and we went with a group of friends. We didn't plan on staying in the hotel much and this was the cheapest we could find. I was actually impressed for the price we paid. Enjoyed staying here and would stay again. The only complaint is the pool is pretty small and the bathrooms needed some updating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

First of all let me say that hotels in key west are a bit pricey, we paid $200/night and stayed 2 nights. Other than that my wife and I found the hotel to be quite nice. Ray at the front desk was great. He will help you with in any way he can. The rest of the staff was equally helpful and polite. Our room was very nice, overall the hotel has a bit of a cottage feel but is updated very nicely. Rooms are modern and clean, with good room service. The grounds are well kept, and the pool is small but clean and well maintained. Nice breakfast by the pool. That said, there are a few thing travelers should know. Eaton street is busy so there is some traffic noise if your room is on the street side. Parking on the entire key is abysmal so find a spot and keep it! Rent bicycles, there is a bike rental a block down the street on Eaton. They will pick up the bikes from the hotel when you are done (the hotel could use more bike parking spots). Bicycle is the best way to get around Key west, as you will find out. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to Duval so plan accordingly if you've had a few drinks or too much to eat. Overall we had a very pleasant 2 days, and I would recommend Albury Court as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for seven nights recently. We had one of the rooms that looks over Eaton Street. We were worried about the noise from the street, but it proved no problem at all. Also, these rooms had very nice porches with chairs that we used a great deal for reading, people watching, and the like. The hotel is 7-8 blocks from Duval Street, but it is an easy walk down either Eaton or one of the parallel roads. There are many amenities in the area, including some great sandwich shops, a convenience store, and a wonderful bakery. Each morning about 8 the hotel puts out a continental breakfast of coffee, orange juice, milk, pastries, bagels and cereal (and a few other things) in the courtyard. The courtyard has a small pool, a few tables, and a few chaise lounges and it is tree-covered. It is pleasant, but not the kind of place to suntan (for that there is a sundeck in the part of the hotel across the street from the office). Ray in the office is an institution, quick to recommend places and give you truly helpful ideas about things to do. Overall, this was a wonderful experience, one we look forward to repeating.

Room Tip: We greatly like the rooms on Eaton Street, on the same side of the street as the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

- Not as nice as the pictures make it look
- A good 10-12 minute walk to the action on Duval
- Parking an issue (we got a ticket)
- WIFI only on patios and pool NOT in room
- Small, clean no frills room
- Some rooms are across the street from reception/pool area

Room Tip: ask for a room adjacent to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed for two nights and was a bit skeptical because this was the cheapest hotel that I could find durin those days given some festival that was taking place. As soon as I walked into the reception area, I knew I struck gold. The staff was warm and inviting. When I opened be door to my room I was amazed. Clean, modern, and quaint. Only issue was with parking, but the front desk provided maps for on street parking as well as a city parking lot option. Very impressed and most certainly will return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albury Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albury Court Hotel

Address: 1030 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albury Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albury Court is one of five hotels in the Historic Key West Inns collection located in Key West's historic district. It is a 38 room boutique hotel that is near the harbor and is within walking distance of Key West’s major attractions including restaurants, shopping and nightlife on Duval street, waterfront activities, and quaint island neighborhoods. This hotel offers a variety of guestrooms, from economy to luxury. Guestrooms are located in several historic buildings, each with typical Key West architecture such as clapboard siding, open porches, metal roofs, picket fences, and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Albury Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albury Court Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albury Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.