We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Custom House Museum

Custom House Museum
281 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
305-295-6616
Update attraction details
Ranked #32 of 85 attractions in Key West
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
Westerville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

this was a very pleasant surprise. in a very touristy area one does not expect to find a museum like this. interesting art on the first floor and then history display on the second floor. great little film about the building of Flagler rr, information on Hemingway's life including his WWI uniform still blood stained. I would recommend this to anyone who is tired of the crowds on Duval and wants a dose of history and art in a quiet atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well worth seeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a beautiful building that we've enjoyed looking at from the outside for 10 years. Last week we finally took the time to see inside and were completely satisfied. The paintings of local artists were very stunning and the history exhibits were outstanding. The temperature inside the building was cool and refreshing while you stroll from one display to the other. There was an exhibit and a movie presentation about Henry Flagler and his railroad which we thoroughly enjoyed. We will go back again and highly recommend it to anyone interested in beautiful art and the history of Key West!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The building is beautiful. The displays are so informative. History at its best. Art on the 1st floor,
history on 2nd floor. Plenty to do and see in this area. Mallory Square and Harry Truman complex. Well worth the time and money.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Changing exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This museum has some really fun exhibits. There are statues outside by Seward Johnson that are life-sized (some larger) that are a must see. Occasionally they will have a display inside by him as well, if you time your visit right. The inside exhibits change frequently, so you never know what you will see, but most of the time it is worth the admission price

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum for those who love history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our first stop after getting off of our cruise ship. I can't think of a better way to start a tour of Key West. The statues around the custom house are whimsical. Once you enter the museum you go through the gift shop and pay your admission. Well worth the price and they give a AAA discount. We started our tour on the first floor which has two art exhibits. Both of the exhibits we saw on our visit were by Key West artists. My 16 year old daughter loves art and enjoyed both exhibits. One was an exhbit by a folk artist who did work in both paint and needlepoint of his painting and the other artist did paintings of the exterior of Key West buildings in "Plein aire." The 2nd floor had historical exhibits which told the story of how Key West evolved from a place where the residents made their living from salvaging wrecks to a tourist destination. Loved seeing Hemingways military uniform and typewriter. One room focused on the history of Henry Flagler's railroad to Key West.
.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom House Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Custom House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Custom House Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.