We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West History in a Beautiful Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Custom House Museum

Custom House Museum
281 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
305-295-6616
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Key West History in a Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Spent a few hours here during our last Key West visit. The building is a beautiful piece of architecture. The wrap around verandah features life-size, realistic looking statues. Inside there are excellent exhibits featuring Key West history including Hemingway, Sanchez, hurricanes and the Spanish War.

Many resorts offer free admission tickets or have buy one - get one coupons. Standard admission is $7 for adults, cheaper for seniors, adults and AAA card holders. Well worth the price of admission.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“One of the better museums in KW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was a really nice, little museum! I'm glad we went. There were some interesting exhibits downstairs, and upstairs had a lot of KW history. Definitely a nice place to visit and escape the heat! Worth the price of admission for sure.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great thorough History of Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I spend three hours in here. There was a great art exhibit downstairs and up the century old stair case, into a deep lively history of Key West through industry, figures and events. The content of the museum is undeniable. There is a lot of money in here, local names I recognize this place is truly dedicated more than any other museum in the city. No other museum really covers the entire spectrum of the great history of our island. Great gift shop too. Take a stroll around the balcony of the old custom's house, made of 1 million bricks. So much treasure and fortune had passed from the shore through the doors, having used to be right on the water docks. Great show and a way to spend an inquisitive. The curator was even kind enough to let me bring my coffee!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The museum was right outside our hotel. Very odd art work outside interested us into going in. The lady behind the counter was very knowledgable. The museum was well priced at $6. It took us about 2 hours with all the videos. Art work was well organized. There was a lot of information about Hemingway and the Flagler railroad. Beautiful art and architecture everywhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“They have Hemingway's uniform!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The one he was shot in while in Italy. It's still stained with his blood and all the tiny holes from all the points of entry from the grapnel. They also have a couple of his typewriters and a first edition of A Farewell to Arms, in addition to several other pieces any Hemingway fan should see. Support the arts. Pay the small admission fee and enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom House Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Custom House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Custom House Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Custom House Museum to your Saves list