We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Motel to your Saves list
Spindrift Motel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1212 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Denton
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After reading reviews here, we were not expecting much. Everyplace we looked was too expensive, this included, but we wanted to visit Key West and this looked about the best of the lot.

We drove up, were not impressed. Small office, pot-holed drive to rooms (not usable for cars, bikes and pedestrians only), past a small heated pool, to #12, our room. Opened the door to a room with one queen bed, table w/two chairs, minirefrig, large TV, and a large vanity w/sink and good lights. We had booked a room with two beds. I was just about to return to the office when I thought I had better go inside and really look at the room . . . wow! There was another big room on the other side of the vanity with a king bed, chair, and bath w/tub, shower. We had extra towels and soap, we just had to bring our own shampoo, which we do anyway.

Our rooms had two a/c units and several windows. It was clean and super quiet at night. We were one block off Duval and a couple of blocks from the Butterfly Conservatory and the Southernmost Hotel. The location was perfect.

We paid about $190/nt, which we thought was outrageous for a budget motel but there was absolutely nothing wrong with this motel.

We took photos . . . hope this helps.
Sandy (in Denton)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    43
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
14
33
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trion, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here in 2011. This place has a squarish layout. Your view is only of the other rooms. The rooms are small, but the bathroom in my room was rediculously tiny. I'm tall so I had to bend way down to even reach the sink. I actually had to stand outside the shower on a towell and lean in to wash my hair and upperbody because the shower head was so low. The beds were VERY dated and squeeked every time you twitched. The only coverings on the windows were blinds with big gaps so anyone could peek in if they were so inclined. They have lots of safety lighting so if light makes it hard for you to sleep then you're not going to like this place. The pool closes fairly early. They use old fashioned keys so they charge a key deposit. The parking was so terrible that an older couple next door pulled their Harleys into the courtyard beside their door and then woke everyone up the next morning when they left.
Well, the good...the room was clean. I heard people complaining about ants, but my room was fine. There was a full kitchen and the cabinets were loaded with anything you would need to cook something up. But the best thing I could say is that the Italian restaurant next door was absolutely amazing. I eat Italian everywhere I go and this place was a the best I have ever had. Maybe I got lucky with my choice, but it was fantastic.
On the whole, for $200 a night this place should have been much better. It would be a $35 per night kind of place anywhere else but Key West.

Room Tip: I would go around to where the rooms are before you check in and try to spot all the bright lights t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We pulled up and were quite surprised at the run-down first impression. The building is older, which is fine, windows did not look inviting, The lobby is tiny, but the staff knowledgeable and friendly. The courtyard isn't in the best condition, but it was isolated, featured a pool (which we did not have time to use), several chairs and tables, greenery.

Our room wasn't what I expected, which I suppose is my fault for assuming that 4 out of 5 photos would ensure I had a kitchen to help save dining costs. Mini Fridge was truly tiny, not even big enough to hold a to-go box. No microwave, no telephone (in this day of cell phones), comfortable bed, very clean tiles, very clean room. No windows for fresh air, so we used the air conditioner or fan for circulation.

All in all, it did turn out to be just what we needed. Well away from the hubbub of downtown, but only a 25 minute walk to the docks, the place was nice and quiet. We wouldn't have had time to cook anyway as we kept so busy. Just because it's not right downtown does in no way mean the location is inconvenient. Restaurants, bike rentals, entertainment, beach, all are nearby.

For the price and privacy, totally worth it. If you want more than just a room, this may not be for you.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if your room has a kitchenette or not, if a kitchenette is what you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for Superboat weekend. Only 30 minute casual walk to pits and just one block off Duval. Clean, basic rooms perfect for economy stay. Bring your own shampoo and soap, but otherwise more than adequate for Key West landing spot.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I went here with a couple of buddies after reviewing online. $145 for two queen beds, not bad price considering every place on the Duval strip wanted $160 or more because of the fantasy fest. Looks dingy on the outside, but rest assured, the interior was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

this was a great Motel. Very clean and the staff is friendly. I went during Gumbay and my frineds and I were litterally 3 blocks from the festival and 1 block from the Juncanu parade. The hotal is 1 block from the southern most point and the beach. The beach is not recomended for swiming but the bar and resturant are great.

Room Tip: If going to hang with the girls room 12 is the best! However, they only have one iron in the office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is our first trip to Key West. We had lots we wanted to do here but had a limited budget (especially since we were driving from Texas and knew we had to have money for our return trip). We had considered staying at some of the places further away from Duvall street to save money. We are so glad we read about the Spindrift and tried it.
The location is perfect as it is just one block off of Duval Street. It looks like a place out of the 50's which we liked. Everyone we dealt with in the office was pleasant. Our bed was comfy, we had a mini fridge, the wireless access worked everyday and the room was very clean. The pool was crystal clear. We enjoyed it everyday were here. I was worried about "bugs" being an issue at any place we stayed as many of the places I read about had "bug" issues. We saw nary an ant or bug in our room.
If you want a very clean, affordable place to stay try the Spindrift. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Motel

Address: 1212 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Spindrift Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean affordable motel rooms, located 1 block from Duval Street close to restaurants, shops and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Spindrift Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.