We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and tasty tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santiago's Bodega

Santiago's Bodega
207 Petronia St, Key West, FL 33040-7305
3052967691
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Santiago's Bodega is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $26 - $38
Cuisines: European, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Petronia and Emma
Description: Santiago"s Bodega (305) 296-7691 • 207 Petronia Street – www.santiagosbodega.com - A wonderful assortment of over thirty small plates await you at this tapas-style eatery. Accentuating the well seasoned combination of dishes, Santiago's also has great soups, salads, and a remarkable wine list to compliment. Santiago's Bodega is a unique restaurant located in the heart of Bahama Village, off the beaten path and away from the tumultuous crowds. Santiago's serves lunch and dinner all year, seven days a week. Open 11am-10pm daily.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tasty tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Sangria and Tapas! My first time for both. Glad I tried it! Recommend reservations since it is rather small and they get busy. Agree with most everyone else, great selection of tapas (small plates), good service, and nice atmosphere. The rest of my trip I was recommending this place to random strangers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,502
    339
    86
    49
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montross, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best - Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Dinner Sunday (10/14) evening came down to Santiago’s Bodega and Blue Heaven. We chose Santiago’s and even though we didn’t have a reservation we were seated right away. We started off with a pitcher of white Sangria while we looked over the menu. Santiago’s Bodega is a tapas restaurant so there were many decisions to make. We ordered 2 soups, 3 cold tapas dishes and 4 hot tapas dishes. We started with French Onion and mushroom soup. The French onion took a little longer so we all shared the mushroom soup. It was great. I love a broth only soup and this was one of the best, the temperature was spot on the mushroom taste hit the mark. The bowl was wiped clean. The next items delivered to the table were the cheese plate and beef Carpaccio. The cheese plate had 3 types of cheese – a very strong blue cheese, a goat cheese and one other. Although I’m not a very adventurous when it comes to cheese, I tried all three and didn’t care for the blue cheese – very, very strong but the other 2 were very good – much more mild. The cheese plate stayed on the table through much of the meal and there wasn’t much left when it was finally taken away. The beef Carpaccio was good – my husband and I compare all beef Carpaccio to the one we’ve had a few times at Andy’s Hideaway in St. Barth, and this was good but not the best. I will say once we added a little salt it got better and there was nothing left on the plate when it was taken away. My French onion soup was delivered at the same time as the tuna ceviche. The soup was very good. The cheese was toasted just right and the bread, broth and onions were proportioned exactly right. This was also shared by the table but I probably had the majority. The tuna ceviche was also very good – great taste and the quantity was perfect for the table. While waiting for our next dishes we ordered another pitcher of sangria – it was delicious. Our hot tapas items all came out at just about the same time – lamb chops, beef tenderloin, roman meatballs with pasta and shrimp& chorizo skewers. The lamb chops were cooked perfectly and were very tender. The beef tenderloin was ordered medium rare but when we cut into it, it was anything but medium rare. We notified our waiter and the situation was corrected immediately. The cost was deducted from our bill and we got a newly prepared beef tenderloin which was well worth the wait. The roman meatball with pasta was good and reminded us of a comfort food. The shrimp & chorizo skewer was very good – the shrimp was cooked perfectly and the chorizo had a great taste. There was nothing left on the plates of our hot tapas dishes. Although we were all pleasantly full – not stuffed but full we decided to order one dessert for the 4 of us so we picked the bread budding served with ice cream – just as we left the other dishes of our meal this one was cleaned off too. We collectively decided after our 3 dinner meals of our trip that Santiago’s Bodega was the best. I wish we had another night or 2 on this trip – it was fabulous but I guarantee it will most definitely be top of the list when we return to Key West.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaurant in Key West!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Tried Santiago's for the first time during our 5 night stay in Key West. We were so impressed with the great food, beer, and service that we went back a second time. Both times we made reservations online at Open Table and they seemed to appreciate that (they were busy both times which were during the week). Alan was our waiter the first time and he was wonderful. We got there just after they opened and were very pleased to learn they had half price beer and specials. Alan was attentive, but not intrusive. Food was served promptly and was so tasty! When we came back a few days later, Keith was our waiter and did a great job. Alan was working too and even greeted us and remembered that we came from San Diego. I like that friendliness! Santiago's... we will be back again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They have it together here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wonderful selection of tapas, and nightly specials.
Great atmosphere and service.
Much attention is given to their offerings -- they delight both the eye and the pallet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Get Dessert!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

No matter what you do save room for flourless choc cake! This place is always fun to go to with friends.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santiago's Bodega also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Santiago's Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santiago's Bodega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.