We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Kraals Museum

Turtle Kraals Museum
200 Margaret Street, Key West, FL 33040
(305) 294-0209
Update attraction details
Ranked #57 of 85 attractions in Key West
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The only Sea Turtle museum in the world.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Has passed by many times but never gone in. Turns out "kraals" means a pen and they used to keep green turtles in pens waiting to be made into soup (no more of course since our ancestors enjoyed too much soup and the turtles are now endangered!). Lots of history on the turtle trade and some archeological artifacts.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend where eating at turtle kraals resterant. We walked over found it was free. Was very interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good to hear they're protected now”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not much here but it's free. And the person there was engaging, even when I wasn't that interested. A few good things to look at. If you have questions, ask. Worth a walk over.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omahhung
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Friendly and knowledgeable man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

learned a lot from the guy in there. He was great. Exhibits were wonderful old photos, sad cans of endangered meat. All very interesting...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great spot to walk through and see the history and the staff is very cool. The man working actually sang a song he made up on the spot for me being a Vietnam Vet.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Kraals Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Turtle Kraals Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Kraals Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.