We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ​​​​​​​​​Key West Turtle Museum

​​​​​​​​​Key West Turtle Museum
200 Margaret Street, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-0209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 151 things to do in Key West
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only Sea Turtle museum in the world.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Has passed by many times but never gone in. Turns out "kraals" means a pen and they used to keep green turtles in pens waiting to be made into soup (no more of course since our ancestors enjoyed too much soup and the turtles are now endangered!). Lots of history on the turtle trade and some archeological artifacts.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VetteGuyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend where eating at turtle kraals resterant. We walked over found it was free. Was very interesting.

Helpful?
2 Thank dallaslovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good to hear they're protected now”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not much here but it's free. And the person there was engaging, even when I wasn't that interested. A few good things to look at. If you have questions, ask. Worth a walk over.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TJfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omahhung
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly and knowledgeable man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

learned a lot from the guy in there. He was great. Exhibits were wonderful old photos, sad cans of endangered meat. All very interesting...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lilawheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fun to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great spot to walk through and see the history and the staff is very cool. The man working actually sang a song he made up on the spot for me being a Vietnam Vet.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ​​​​​​​​​Key West Turtle Museum also viewed

 

Been to ​​​​​​​​​Key West Turtle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing