We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ​​​​​​​​​Key West Turtle Museum

​​​​​​​​​Key West Turtle Museum
200 Margaret Street, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-0209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 188 things to do in Key West
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only Sea Turtle museum in the world.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Has passed by many times but never gone in. Turns out "kraals" means a pen and they used to keep green turtles in pens waiting to be made into soup (no more of course since our ancestors enjoyed too much soup and the turtles are now endangered!). Lots of history on the turtle trade and some archeological artifacts.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend where eating at turtle kraals resterant. We walked over found it was free. Was very interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good to hear they're protected now”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not much here but it's free. And the person there was engaging, even when I wasn't that interested. A few good things to look at. If you have questions, ask. Worth a walk over.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omahhung
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Friendly and knowledgeable man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

learned a lot from the guy in there. He was great. Exhibits were wonderful old photos, sad cans of endangered meat. All very interesting...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fun to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great spot to walk through and see the history and the staff is very cool. The man working actually sang a song he made up on the spot for me being a Vietnam Vet.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ​​​​​​​​​Key West Turtle Museum also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to ​​​​​​​​​Key West Turtle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ​​​​​​​​​Key West Turtle Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.