We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Martello Tower” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Martello Tower

West Martello Tower
Atlantic Blvd and White St, Key West, FL 33040
305-294-3210
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #17 of 85 attractions in Key West
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Gardens
Attraction Details
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“West Martello Tower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was a very interesting historic site! And, it is free (requested donation, but not required). Wear bug spray!! We went on a cool rainy day and I got ate up by mosquitoes! Beautiful gardens, interesting structure and history. Worth the stop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    86
    16
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“r and r”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

beyond wonderful! very well done !!! what a treat to see such beautiful gardens and smack on the water in such a historic setting. kudos to the garden club that installed and maintains all this! the pier right next to it was great also.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“West Martello Towers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Beautiful at every twist and turn in this old civil war fort that is taken care of by the local Garden Club. They do breathtaking decorating near Christmas and just as lovely during the rest of the year. Great place for taking photos, inside and outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We happened to see this while on the trolley tour around the island. Thankfully we did. It is filled with so many beautiful gardens and trees and things to see. Every turn was a new surprise! They only request donations! When we visit again, we will definitely go back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An unexpected, quiet spot of beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It's difficult for me to put into words the amount of enjoyment I got from this place. Totally my favorite thing in Key West. First, I just think it was inspired to take this old fort (we saw the other one, and it was just plain ugly) and turn it into a garden. Then there were just so many nice touches: a couple of rooms of orchids. A tunnel through a tree. A bell on a hill. Some statues. A little waterfall. A butterfly garden. I could go on. There's no admission fee, but we happily gave a donation to help them keep up this beautiful place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Martello Tower also viewed

 

Been to West Martello Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Martello Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.