We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Martello Tower

West Martello Tower
Atlantic Blvd and White St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-3210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 187 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tropical gardens set in an old fort
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The gardens are beautiful and peaceful. The fort is home to beautiful plants and trees. A nice place to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street. This attraction is FREE but the garden club does accept donations.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    105
    17
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An incredible amalgam of history and beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a cool place! An old, abandoned fort turned into a beautiful, well-maintained and cared-for garden. We loved seeing every plant and talking to the knowledgable employee at the front desk (who I later noticed was in their historical videos as well). This place special and not to be missed!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great use for an old Fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

nice job by the garden club of Key West. They have used plants native to the area planted around the old fort. We visit it every year.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Yo TA, this is the same attraction as Key West Garden Club.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm not sure why TA shows this separate from Key West Garden Club because they are one and the same. We've driven past here a hundred times and for some reason we never stopped in, Big Mistake! The ruins of West Martello Tower have been taken over by the Key West Garden Club and what a great idea! And right smack on the ocean. Just look at the pictures, and did I mention it's FREE? But don't be cheap and be sure to leave a decent donation in the box.

The only bad thing is that it's at Higgs Beach which is a hang out for bums. What a bummer!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden and it's Free !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a beautiful garden with unique trees and gorgeous orchids, old tower and we even saw a resident Iguana ! We truely enjoyed this gem!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Martello Tower also viewed

 

Been to West Martello Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Martello Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.