We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet respite from Duval St. and the tourists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Martello Tower

West Martello Tower
1100 Atlantic Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-3210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 188 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tropical gardens set in an old fort
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A quiet respite from Duval St. and the tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The gardens in and around the old tower (cared for by the garden club of Key West) are beautiful and peaceful. It's free, though a donation for upkeep is appreciated. This is a lovely place to stroll through.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    110
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Surprise Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We happened upon the gardens of West Martello Tower quite by accident, through curiosity at seeing what appeared to be the remains of a Civil War era fort while walking the shore at Higgs Beach. Upon entering, we were greeted by a volunteer from the Key West Garden Club, who explained that the Garden Club had taken over the historic structure and created a unique peace garden in the fort's interior. The next hour or so we spent meandering through the variously themed gardens with butterflies and birds flying about. We left rejuvenated and happy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Incredible Garden! Ocean View - Photo Op Galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family and I were amazed that this garden is so incredibly well kept with no admission charge! A huge Thank You to the Key West Garden Club! We strolled through the gardens for about 45 minutes. With our map in hand and with all the plants labeled perfectly we only had one question - "How come we had never taken the time to come here sooner?". As a family of shutterbugs we found an endless supply of beauty.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful garden by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

While exploring Higgs Beach, we came across this lovely garden, created and maintained by the Key West Garden Club. It is on the inside of an old fort. Plantings include some local and some non-local plants. There are water features. It seemed that it would be a lovely site for a small wedding. It is free, with donations accepted.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Garden Lovers Dream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful and FREE. What a gorgeous place to meander. Gardens are set in an old brick fort, so makes for a lovely backdrop for plants and flowers. Few water displays, too. Even a little bit of art scattered about. A must see.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Martello Tower also viewed

 

Been to West Martello Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Martello Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.