We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Garden! Ocean View - Photo Op Galore!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Martello Tower

West Martello Tower
Atlantic Blvd and White St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-3210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tropical gardens set in an old fort
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Incredible Garden! Ocean View - Photo Op Galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family and I were amazed that this garden is so incredibly well kept with no admission charge! A huge Thank You to the Key West Garden Club! We strolled through the gardens for about 45 minutes. With our map in hand and with all the plants labeled perfectly we only had one question - "How come we had never taken the time to come here sooner?". As a family of shutterbugs we found an endless supply of beauty.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    89
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful garden by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

While exploring Higgs Beach, we came across this lovely garden, created and maintained by the Key West Garden Club. It is on the inside of an old fort. Plantings include some local and some non-local plants. There are water features. It seemed that it would be a lovely site for a small wedding. It is free, with donations accepted.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Garden Lovers Dream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful and FREE. What a gorgeous place to meander. Gardens are set in an old brick fort, so makes for a lovely backdrop for plants and flowers. Few water displays, too. Even a little bit of art scattered about. A must see.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Part of Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It feels like this place must get overlooked. During my visit there were not too many others. I was able to find a shady spot to sit and read and enjoy the beautiful day. Also enjoyed the wide variety of flora and the ruins of the old Civil War fort.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gardens with fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place is for the history buff who likes gardening. The remains of the old fort (1840s) are shadows with dappled sunshine and a little spooky. The garden club has an orchid collection and many native plants. Lizards and iguanas scamper about. Tables and benches make this a real relaxing place to spend a few hours.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Martello Tower also viewed

 

Been to West Martello Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Martello Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added West Martello Tower to your Saves list