We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Key West Resort & Marina to your Saves list
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Key West
Miami
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean. The bed was so comfy. We had a room by the pool, and there was no bothersome noises of surrounding traffic. The pool and lounge chairs were clean, and the water was refreshing. The location is great; central to all the fun places to visit. The bar serves up some good drinks.... Visit Jim aka Mr. MOJITO!
My only complaint....I wish there was a fridge in the room. Other than that....we will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and Marina and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    432
    174
    103
    79
See reviews for
293
615
30
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Summary: 5-star location, but disappointed with some aspects of the hotel that you would expect from a true 5-star hotel, and for the price.

Check-in: We had no initial issues with check-in. We were early and our room wasn't available yet. This usually isn't an issue for us, but the lobby was very small and there wasn't much room just to sit and relax while waiting for the room. You are able to use the pool, but after traveling and walking around for lunch, we just wanted to sit in the AC.

Room: We had a deluxe king with partial ocean view. We were on the 3rd floor of the lobby building. Most rooms with views appear to be in this building, and the rooms with pool views in the main building. Our room was on the corner, so we probably had the best of the partial view rooms. (As others mention, the view is often blocked by cruise ships, however there weren't any on Saturday, Sunday or when we left on Monday. If this is a big deal for you, get a poolside room.) Not sure what made the deluxe room different than a standard room. Both are listed as 375 sqft online. It may just be the view. The room did have a fridge, which did not appear to be standard on the website. We also got a few free bottles of water in the room. Two bottles had a sign about being free for being a Starwood Preferred Guest member and a 3rd had a sign about being a $2.50 charge, however they were all free and replenished each day. In-room coffee was Starbucks. I am a coffee drinker and was happy with it. We did have a few issues with the room. We needed a crib, and had called the day before and mentioned at our initial check-in that we needed a crib and fridge. We had to call three times before our crib was brought up right before our daughters bedtime. (As mentioned earlier, not the level of service you expect from a high-end hotel.) Also, the temp in our room was 77 degrees when we arrived. I let this go figuring that it might have been turned off. The room cooled off a bit overnight, but climbed again the next day. This time however, our issue was addressed without needing to call back and the AC was working when we got back after dinner. The last issue is minor but seemed odd. There aren't room darkening blinds, just vertical blinds, so it does get bright in the room when the sun comes up. Also, the handle on the door to our deck didn't fit with the blinds on the door, and many of the blinds were broken. The deck was nice to have, but it was small and with the AC constantly running, it was noisy and warm. I do not have any sunset pictures from our balcony, but my wife was there for the same one I have pictured from the patio down on the water, and it was a great view.

Location: We paid to upgrade our overall trip experience from a cheaper hotel that we originally booked, so some of the above issues were annoying. However, part of our upgrade was location, and this did not disappoint. There are 4 or 5 hotels along the water on the north side of the island that a close to the marina, the major bars and restaurants, and with great sunset views, and the Westin is one of them. We did trek to other parts of the island by choice, but the furthest trip we had to make was to the marina, and it was about a quarter mile. We also walked to various other bars and restaurants only a few blocks away.

Food: Bistro 245 was unimpressive. We did not like the room service menu, and turns out it is the same as the Bistro. It wasn't bad, but was disappointed for the price. Go elsewhere for a fine dining experience. The food poolside was surprisingly good after our Bistro experience the first night. We ate poolside multiple times. The Sunset Deck above the Bistro appeared to serve the poolside menu.

Misc: Although it quickly runs out, they have fresh squeezed OJ in the lobby each morning and virgin mojitos in the afternoon. This was a nice touch. There are a bunch of shops on the ground level of each building. This was convenient for shopping, however there is usually a lot of foot traffic in the area between the lobby building and the main building with the pool because of this. Not a big minus, just an odd layout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to provide feedback. It offers us an opportunity for improvement. All of the reviews are passed along to staff for training and improvement purposes. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hey,
My friend and I visited the Westin key resort for the second time on April 6 2013.
From the second we arrived the staff that welcomed us were super friendly and very helpful...
When we got to the front dest the receptionist Brian was AMAZING!!! He was VERY helpful, nice, professional, friendly and went out of he's way to make sure we got everything we need and everything we asked for and that we are 100% happy and satisfied.
That was I sign for us that this resort is simply the best!
The staff at the pool bar/restaurant were amazing ! And we want to say a special thanks to David the bartender, he was amazing!!!!!
We originally booked the hotel for 5 nights and extended our stay for 7 nights and 8 days cause each day was magical and perfect! The food, perfect! The service, perfect ! The rooms, perfect!
And a SPECIAL thanks from the bottom of our hearts to WANDA MENENDEZ, front office supervisor, she is simply one of the most incredible, professional human being we ever met! She always has a smile on her face! She will always be there to help you no matter what! She is one of the reasons we will come back to this magical resort!
Thank you alllllllllllll at Westin key resort for making our stay unforgettable !!!!!
Best regards
Sophia and ronen...

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Checking in was reasonably easy. They have a very friendly pet policy. There are the very comfy beds, per usual, and a small but smart shower/vanity set up. There is a fun pool and a hot tub with pool-side service (sort of). Upstairs bar has a beautiful view of the sunset and surprisingly good "bar food". Work out area was nice and the location is very central.

Things I didn't love - the ensuing crowds after the Disney cruise boat docked at the marina and it really, really irritated me that they cut off the upstairs bar for a wedding after advertising the "sunset celebration" at this same bar all over the hotel. I guess that weddings pay well.

All the staff did go out of their way to be pleasant, however.

I would go again for location, pool, beds, and service but would ask to make sure that no weddings were planned for that night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and time in Key West. Sunset Celebration can be enjoyed from the Westin pier as well as the Sunset Deck. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Not your typical Key West venue but more like a resort hotel. Great room overlooking pool.
Pet friendly so our little guy was happy on his special bed. Staff is friendly. Location perfect for shops and restaurants, but cruise ships debark there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

this hotel is fabulous, service was great, and you can't beat the location. Its within walking distance to the main strip, and Mallory square is right next door to the hotel. I have stayed at this hotel 2 times, once with my Husband, and once with my sister and her kids. Both times was fabulous.

I love the Westin!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has the nicer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

I have read your review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and time in Key West. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel provided an alternative to the many bed and breakfast style options around Duval Street. Although you don't get completely immersed in the local feel as this is a chain hotel brand, there is one great perk that sets it apart - the private island. The Westin has beachfront and a pool/bar on Sunset Key and guests can purchase a ticket for a ride over and back on the hotels boat. As the Key West area has limited beachfront this was well worth the money and was a great way to spend the day in the beautiful weather and away from crowded beaches. The pool area there is wonderful too. Rooms are what you would expect from a Westin - very nice but nothing special. Nice balcony overlooking hotel pool though. Also great location near Duval Street. Would recommend - prices can get ridiculous during peak though.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit to Key West!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural beauty and local charm make the Westin Key West Resort & Marina a remarkable destination. Located on the waterfront in the heart of Old Town, this resort is positioned on the sunset side of the island within walking distance of famous Duval Street. It is also one of the country's largest private ports which welcomes cruise ships from around the world. As the only full-service resort in Key West to hold the AAA Four-Diamond rating since 1999, The Westin Key West Resort and Marina boasts a reputation of unmatched hospitality and offers an ideal setting for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.