We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay - enjoyed the private island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Key West Resort & Marina to your Saves list
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great one night stay - enjoyed the private island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel provided an alternative to the many bed and breakfast style options around Duval Street. Although you don't get completely immersed in the local feel as this is a chain hotel brand, there is one great perk that sets it apart - the private island. The Westin has beachfront and a pool/bar on Sunset Key and guests can purchase a ticket for a ride over and back on the hotels boat. As the Key West area has limited beachfront this was well worth the money and was a great way to spend the day in the beautiful weather and away from crowded beaches. The pool area there is wonderful too. Rooms are what you would expect from a Westin - very nice but nothing special. Nice balcony overlooking hotel pool though. Also great location near Duval Street. Would recommend - prices can get ridiculous during peak though.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit to Key West!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    450
    177
    109
    82
See reviews for
296
647
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
union city, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I visited Key West for the 7th time April 8 through 12th 2013. We celebrated his birthday. OMG. We were greated by the nicest gentleman, Brian. Brian was the best!!!!!
I told Brian that it was my husband's birthday and the room he assigned to us was the candle on the cake. He sent a bottle of delicious wine with cheese and crackers.

The room had the very best view. The balcony overlooked the restaurant and we were able to enjoy the steel pan entertainment (absolutely fabulous) from the total privacy of our balcony. This was the most enjoyable visit to Key West we have experienced yet. The location is the best. The parking is $20.00 a day but once you get over the price you realize just how convenient it really is.

This hotel was clean, quite, and super comfortable. The room has a pillow-top bed that was very comfortable.

I would highly recommend staying at the Westin. Bring your wallet but it is worth every penny.
Also, not to be underestimated. There were no creepy crawlers crawling about as we have experienced in the past at some of the quaint bed and breakfast estblishments in Key West.

THANKS BRIAN!!!

Room Tip: Tell them you do not want to hear the noise from the "Hogs Breath Bar." Its a hoot, but wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Its all about the location which is excellent. The rest is fine. Standard hotel really. But the location is this hotels biggest asset. Some nice touches like the free bottled water in the rooms and a fridge are appreciated. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit to Key West!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is right in the heart of Key West!! We self parked since the parking was right next to hotel. The lobby is much smaller than I thought it would be. I don't know that it would even be considered a lobby but maybe a welcome room....But everyone was very friendly & helpful. Our room was in the main building. We walked across the courtyard & entered another small lobby. This is where the concierge was. The concierge was very helpful. She answered all our questions. We decided to rent bikes so She contacted Eaton bike rentals & set up delivery of bikes to the hotel. There are several bike racks in front of the building so you can lock the bikes up over night or when you aren't using them. When we were done with our bikes we just dropped off the key to the bike locks with the concierge & she took care of turning in the bikes to the rental place.
Our room was great. Very large & spacious for a regular room. The bed was very comfy!! Bathrooms were nice. Shower was large & had good water pressure. The balcony had a view of the pool & you still had an ocean view. We were on the 3rd floor & there was a palm tree in front of the balcony which blocked the view somewhat but it wasn't too bad. When the cruise ships are in port your ocean view turns into a cruise ship view. Haha.
The location of the hotel cannot be beat. You walk out of the building and can literally walk to everything. Duvall street, Malory Square, the marina which offers so much to do. And the concierge will set up all of this for you. Parasailing, snorkeling, dolphin viewing and much more. There are literally are so many attractions, restaurants & shops close by.
The sunset deck was a nice spot for dinner & a great spot for watching the sunset.
Each morning we had a great breakfast at the Bistro 245 overlooking the ocean. It really can't be beat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review! It's always great to hear when our guests enjoy their travels. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I stay in Key West twice a year, mostly at the Ocean Key. This time I said let's try the Westin. Booked the room, was told I'd have an ocean view and paid for it. When I got there a very nice older gentlemen checked us in and off to our room we went. When inside, the room faced the aquarium with a not so great view. Called down to the front desk and spoke to it sounded like a younger gentleman and was quickly told there was nothing that could be done that they were sold out and quickly hung up. I stewed for about ten minutes and decided to call down again. This time I was in touch with an Irish gentleman by the name of Bryan Bates. I explained my case and with no hesitation Bryan was on his way up to my room where he personally packed us up and moved us to that beautiful ocean view room I wanted from the beginning. This man took the extra time and took care of us the way every guest should be and even went above and beyond. I'll repeat his name, Bryan Bates. Ask for him when making reservations or checking in. Thank you Bryan, I will return to the Westin due to this man's efforts!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are delighted to hear Bryan was able to assist you and we will make sure to pass along the good review to him! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent two nights and it went by too quickly. The location simply cannot be beat. We had a marina view and it should be kept in mind that with the ocean view rooms you may have a yacht or cruise ship in your view - then again the word "Marina" in the name of the resort indicates there will be boats.
You can walk to all the main attractions of Key West very easily from here. The Westin beds are the best and after long nights out on Key West it is great to come back to the brand's signature beds.
The ability to watch the amazing sunsets from the hotel, right next to Mallory Square is really a plus. The sunset deck and bar at the hotel is a nice location too, though it can be closed quite often due to weddings.
This hotel was not originally a Westin and if you are a frequent Westin guest then you will probably notice. But overall, you simply cannot beat the location and the quality of the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I started a five-day reservation made by a family member for us, but it didn't begin well. The reservation had been removed, for reasons unknown by either the hotel or our family. We ended up with a night while there, two nights in another hotel and two more in the Westin. We felt that the hotel was doing it's best for make things good for us, but the reality was that every room was filled on most of the days. Our final room was on the ground floor, looking through vegetation to the pool. It was pleasant to see the activity at the pool, particularly by many well-behaved kids. The room was large and comfortable, and the sound from adjacent rooms was entirely muted. A very good desk permitted lots of computer work with ease. The location on the marina was very enjoyable and gave us a good area to walk our small Yorkie dogs. Walking along Front was easy and pleasant in the heart of downtown Key West. Cruise ships were anchored adjacent to the marina and the Westin, and with two of them in on one of the days there were always hundreds of visitors walking through the hotel area. We checked out in a heavy rainstorm, and wished there had been a dry route under protection from our building to the entrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and the surrounding areas during your stay. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural beauty and local charm make the Westin Key West Resort & Marina a remarkable destination. Located on the waterfront in the heart of Old Town, this resort is positioned on the sunset side of the island within walking distance of famous Duval Street. It is also one of the country's largest private ports which welcomes cruise ships from around the world. As the only full-service resort in Key West to hold the AAA Four-Diamond rating since 1999, The Westin Key West Resort and Marina boasts a reputation of unmatched hospitality and offers an ideal setting for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Starwood, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.