We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views when available” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Key West Resort & Marina to your Saves list
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent views when available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been debating how to review the Westin for a couple of days now and decided I need to separate the hotel from the views. The hotel is very clean with beautiful rooms and friendly staff. We had a suite overlooking the marina, and we could not have asked for nicer rooms, softer beds and better shower. I urge everyone to read reviews and the Westin website prior to booking so that you know what you are getting. This is a very active cruise ship port so several days of the week a cruise ship will block your view from 6am-6pm. Then all cruise passengers walk past your room to get to Duval St. and downtown Key West. This is a very busy area and there is a lot of activity, noise and traffic. I really liked the hotel, but I have to be honest I would probably look at the other end of the island where it is quieter and less activity. This was my fault not the hotel, but this is Tripadvisor so this is my advice to my fellow travellers who read this site.

Room Tip: Read Tripadvisor reviews and look at pictures of the rooms and views prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and time in Key West. While we are an active cruise ship port, cruise ships do not dock here everyday. We note this on our website and a cruise ship schedule is available on The City of Key West website. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review and we hope you will visit Key West again soon!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    451
    177
    110
    83
See reviews for
299
648
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Westin Key West is a great hotel in Key West. It lives up to the Westin/Starwood standards and with great views. Rooms are clean and location is great. Close to Duvall and restaurants. Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you like to stay in chains because you are a member then I would highly recommend the Westin Key West.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after departing a cruise in Miami. We decided to drive down to Key West and spend a few days relaxing. This hotel is right on the boardwalk area where the cruise boats dock each day. The balcony overlooked the water and boardwalk although when the ships arrive it can obscure your view of the ocean. Our room was fantastic, a two room suite with a large living room and bedroom, two balconies and a very large bathroom. I was spoiled after staying here as my allergy issues virtually went away and I felt spectacular with the warm ocean breeze through the room. The gym area was adequate although it was a bit of a walk to get to from our portion of the hotel. The pool looked gorgeous but at the time we were there, in September, it was a bit chilly to use it. I loved that this hotel was close to museums, restaurants and shopping. We were able to walk just about anywhere we wanting to go including the Hemmingway house. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have stayed at many Westin Hotels, unfortunately this one was forgettable. I had arranged for a room with a partial ocean view. What I received was a view that was obstructed by an elevated bar and daily cruise ships at the dock. They could not move me to a different room.
For three of the seven days we were there they were performing maintenance to the metal shutters for some of the rooms that surround the pool. All day long there was drilling and screwing or these metal shutters some 15 feet from the pool. It was impossible to relax. I brought this to the attention of management and they offered me a breakfast coupon.
Do your self a favor and avoid this property!

Room Tip: Avoid this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While we do have an active cruise ship port (which we state on our website), cruise ships do not dock here every day. The City of Key West has a cruise ship calendar available for everyone to see on their website-our dock is designated with a (B). This schedule is subject to change, and therefore it is not possible to predict/guarantee/notify guests about the presence or absence of a cruise ship when a guest books a room. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very clean hotel, close to the main strip, Duvall St. We sat by the poolside for an afternoon and it was so relaxing. Although there were lots of ppl in the area it was very quiet. Server came around with fruit for everyone. Best piña colada that I have had!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Key West Resort and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had the chance to stay at this westin after years of walking by it on the boardwalk that leads to the sunset celebration on mallory square..there is simply no better location to watch sunset from your room..the rooms have wonderful beds and are nicely appointed but they lack some of the modern technology tie ins that hotels in this oricerange comonly offer...ie a audio system to plug in my pandora...a sd slot on the flat screen to look at pics ...the food at the hotel was unremarkable and overpriced..the drinks were okay ..but the service was very cool and un key westy..over all for the money..they need to step it up..the bell staff/valets are extremely helpful in getting cabs and directions...note ..the cruise ship pirt is directly in front of the hotel ..so when they are in port there is no view and thousands of travelers surrounding and walking thriugh the resort

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and time in Key West. While we are a cruise ship port, cruise ships are not docked here everyday. All comments are passed along to our staff and used as a training tool. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Caitlin was an excellent waitress. Attentive without being obtrusive.

Tuna and avocado salad was outstanding. Avocado was awesome & dressing was delish. Caitlin split it for us to share without needing to be asked.

Drinks were great as well!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

We have read your review and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#11 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural beauty and local charm make the Westin Key West Resort & Marina a remarkable destination. Located on the waterfront in the heart of Old Town, this resort is positioned on the sunset side of the island within walking distance of famous Duval Street. It is also one of the country's largest private ports which welcomes cruise ships from around the world. As the only full-service resort in Key West to hold the AAA Four-Diamond rating since 1999, The Westin Key West Resort and Marina boasts a reputation of unmatched hospitality and offers an ideal setting for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.