We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe bet. Good Location and solid modern 4+ star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Key West Resort & Marina to your Saves list
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A safe bet. Good Location and solid modern 4+ star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

January 6, 2013 Room 449. This modern hotel is located in the Tourist Core and is in easy walking distance of almost everything you will want to see. Room 449 is a 1 bedroom on the top floor in the main building (not the building where the lobby is) located where the pool is located. Easy access. Spacious suite. Well appointed. Main bathroom has a tub and the ensuite has a large shower. Two balconies, 1 off the living room and 1 off the bedroom. LOTS of room with vaulted ceilings.

January sunsets ...... the Westin is the ONLY place to be.

GOOD/BAD
The ONLY negative comment I have is under FOOD below - lack of onsite establishments. Aside from their wireless going down twice in 1 week - and fixed within 2 hours, I have nothing negative to say ..... only good things!!!

SERVICE: Front Desk a breeze and helpful to deal with. I arrived 3 hours before check-in so they call me when my room was ready. Nice! Room Service is fast. Housekeeping is slow but thorough.

FOOD: Quality excellent. Service excellent. Menu selection and available onsite locations only Fair. This is really the ONLY reason why this could not be a true 5 star. 1 restaurant is located at a sister property on an island and a 20 min boat ride away. Yep. Not kidding. The 2 remaining locations are really the same restaurant. One located on the water side of the boardwalk has half the menu items of the one located on the inside of the boardwalk. The smaller one is a plastic fork and knife operation.... probably local bylaws. The other one is half an inside and outside location. Excellent breakfasts. Excellent Sunday brunch. Lunch selection is Okay. Dinner selection is poor. Again, quality of food and service is excellent.

I could only find one high end 5 star restaurant on Duval that was within a 2 block walk. There are a ton of other eating places within those 2 or so blocks, but all pub food or other 2 and 3 star type locations. I guess the Westin haven't figured out they should have a high end restaurant to be a complete high end hotel/resort..

VALUE: Now remember this is Key West. There is no such thing as a cheap vacation in Key West! I honestly felt that what I paid for accommodations, food and parking was the local going rate. Not low and not high..... and no not cheap but fair. $500 USD for room and parking per night.

WOULD I RECOMMEND? Yes. No hesitation.

WOULD I STAY HERE AGAIN? The Westin is one of about 4 high end resorts located in the Tourist Core, as I call it. Why anyone on their first trip to Key West would stay elsewhere is beyond my imagination. If I were to visit again I would probably try to stay somewhere else just for a change in surroundings. Nothing against the Westin.

YOU WERE ABOUT TO ASK ABOUT THAT RESTAURANT ON DUVAL? The name is BAGATELLE. Nice Menu, excellent service and food. Try the surf and turf. They take reservations. Overlook Duval Street from the porch seating. Full wine list. Okay... the sirloin melts in your mouth ... not bad for a place that isn't anywhere near a herd of beef!

I'll post photos when I get home next week.

Room Tip: Register in the Westin Preferred Guest program ... free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please note that the boat ride to Sunset Key is between 5-7 minutes, not 20 minutes, as stated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    432
    174
    103
    79
See reviews for
293
614
30
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Lets see. The carpets smell, your views are of cruise ships, managent is evasive ( especially when the fire alarm goes off for an hour at 7am), NOT WORTH THE PRICE!
Never again.
Much better to stay at the many Trip Advisor recommended Bed and Breakfast hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry you weren't happy with your stay. We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a nice location. However the room we stayed in is in need of a major renovation. It smelled like smoke, the carpets and furniture are old and dirty. Was also kept up all night because the ac unit, which is an in the wall unit and not central air, was loud and kept going on and off all night. Also I woke up with big bites that I did not have before I went to sleep so I'm not sure if they were bug bites or bed bugs.

Lastly, I am a Starwood Gold member and have always experienced great service at all Starwood hotels in the past. But not here. Which is really frustrating when paying over $700 a night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry you weren't happy with all aspects of your stay. We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here with wife through the New Years. Arrived by air and did not rent a car because this hotel is in great location a few yards from Mallory Square and the North end (lower section?) of Duval Street. Paid for a waterfront view which we loved. We had great time enjoying a drink and watching the sunset and street performers from our little porch each evening. We had first level room with a small grass area and hedge providing an effective physical barrier from the crowds taking in the great sunset views. The desk and bell staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. We ate at restaurant for breakfast and lunch - food was great and staff was fabulous. Of the 4 nights we stayed, 2 evenings had cruise ships during the day. It was fun to watch them pull in and depart; but one night blocked the sunset. Have fun with it and call the desk to have the ship removed. This is not a "bargain" experience – particularly over New Years. But, we did not expect it to be so and we were very happy to pay for the location, the professional staff, and the waterfront view that Westin easily delivered! If you are going during any of the Key West peak times, then make reservations early.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel section just north of the building the desk is at. Our building had the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay the rooms r nice I like the balcony a perfect view of the ocean and the boats I can see the shark tank from my room it is awsome place to stay it is great for kids it has a nice mini fridge and stuff I would say go to it :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We are a Westin family. We stay at Westins 90% of the time. This one unfortunately was not up to the the standard we have come to expect and love.
The rooms are ultra small and worn. No closet doors, the bathroom door had been rigged with a nail and a super poor design on the toilet paper holder (silly, but gets old).
On the upside Marie V., our housekeeper had such a sweet disposition, and the valet guys were great. The location is also a plus.
Would not stay here again and would need to really research the Sunset Key location before trusting that.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and for mentioning staff by name. We are sorry that you weren't thrilled with your stay. We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an ocean front room. It was pricey but well worth it. The sunsets in Key West are nothing short of amazing and they were right outside our window. We had Sunday brunch on the pier and it was excellent. The free mimosas didn't hurt either. The staff was courteous, helpful and accommodating.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much. We're glad you had a nice stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural beauty and local charm make the Westin Key West Resort & Marina a remarkable destination. Located on the waterfront in the heart of Old Town, this resort is positioned on the sunset side of the island within walking distance of famous Duval Street. It is also one of the country's largest private ports which welcomes cruise ships from around the world. As the only full-service resort in Key West to hold the AAA Four-Diamond rating since 1999, The Westin Key West Resort and Marina boasts a reputation of unmatched hospitality and offers an ideal setting for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.