We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Save Saved
You added The Westin Key West Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #22 of 41 hotels in Key West
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location right off Mallory Square. Walk to everything in Key West. Looks like the place was recently redone. Tile bathrooms and spacious rooms. We had a direct ocean front view right above the walkway and next to the cruise docking. We sat on the balcony and watched the sunset.

Cruise ships were very quiet. We did not hear them enter or leave the dock. At night the people on the boardwalk were a little noisy and the smell from cigarette smoke made us leave the balcony.

The room had a shower only, no bath. There was a separate vanity area with a door seperating the toilet and shower from the vanity. The shower area had only one light and was a bit dark. Room air conditioner controlled by wall switch. Fan controlled by pull string.

The room price reflects the great location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    572
    409
    160
    95
    78
See reviews for
269
585
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Westin is the perfect hotel to chose to be near everything in Key West!! It is right on the water, beautiful views, and you can walk to all of the shopping, eating, and drinking. Delicious starbucks coffee was available each morning, and the Sunday brunch with unlimited mimosas is a great deal! The pool area was nice, mostly shady in the afternoon though. The fitness center is being remodeled so it is not in use right now, so I cannot rate that. The only thing I could say that was not great was the air conditioning unit in our room (338) was quite loud at night. Otherwise, LOVED this hotel and would stay again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your experience and we're happy to report that the fitness room is back open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just came back from my annual Key West Thanksgiving weekend trip to the Westin. Always enjoy coming to Key West this time of year. Check in by Daniella was quick and friendly. They allowed an upgrade to an Ocean front room (I'm a Starwood Gold member), if we wanted to wait an extra couple of hours, which we did. We stayed in Room #159, which was clean and comfortable. Last year we were in room #103. 159 was good, however, a partition outside our balcony from the outside food service area prevented us from seeing the sundown from our balcony which was disappointing. No such problems from last years room. I had flowers delivered from Gourmet Nibbles, at the suggestion of the concierge, prior to our arrival. Even with the last minute room change, the flowers were waiting in our room upon check-in. Much better maid service this year, and the common areas seemed cleaner, and better smelling, than the previous year. Pool area was good, pleny of lounges, although they got rid of the nicely padded former lounges in favor of new "Frontgate" lounge chairs. While they look very nice, they are no where near as comfortable as the former padded lounges. Went over to Sunset Key twice, which we always enjoy. Went specifically on one day because we had advance notice that Three cruise ships would be in port, making the area around the Westin quite crowded. There were ships in port 5 out of 6 days we were there, but mostly just one ship, and except for one day, the ships were always gone by sundown. A great trip, and already counting down the days until next years trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and for being a repeat guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is situated in an excellent location - close to Mallory Square and downtown Duval Street. The terasse offers gorgeous views of the sunset festivities. Our two room suite was a bit dated and we had to ask for a mini refrig. Staff had no problem providing this. Overall the staff could have been more friendly and service oriented. Exception Lauren, wait staff during breakfast and lunch was a joy. She offered suggestions for activities as well as joked with us and simply went out of her way to provide top notched service. She must be acknowledged by the hotel as being a superb employee. Furthermore, the conceirge for our building was very helpful in answering our questions with respect to the reciprocity with the Sunset Key beach. Great hotel amenity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for mentioning staff by name. Glad you enjoyed yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very good location, Only 100 meters from Duval Street. The sunset can be seen from the Hotel terrasse. The room was large and nicely decorated. The staff could be more pleasant and service minded as this is a tourist destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review! We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnpinva
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is situated perfectly near Mallory Square sunset festival on the water and close to the restaurants and nightlife of Duval Street. The pool is among the nicest in Key West.

However, there were some problems. The staff was professional and addressed the problems adequately, but these things should not happen at a AAA-4 diamond hotel. After checking into a room with a gorgeous pool view, we soon learned that the bed was broken. The springs collapsed in places on the bed, and we had a very difficult time sleeping. The staff did a wonderful job arranging for our things to be moved to our new room on the third floor. However, we learned that the new room did not have a beautiful view and faced the air-conditioning units. The bed was better, but the shower was broken. By the end of the shower, the hot water was a very weak stream. We informed the front desk. They fixed it that day. The next day, however, we had the same problem. The room also could have been more thoroughly cleaned. We found food stains on the drapes and smears on the mirror.

Also, the gym is being renovated. They have arrangements with two other hotels. We tried to the Pier House Resort's gym, but it was rather small and seemed dirty. Some of the equipment was rusted.

Given our experience overall, I cannot recommend staying here, but this is not a bad hotel either. The rooms are nice, with large vanities in the bathroom and good-size TVs. Balconies are a bonus when you have something to look at. Room service was prompt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're sorry you had some problems, but are glad to hear that the staff was responsive. We hope you reconsider and give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We loved the proximity to all the activities and sights of Key West. The staff at the Westin were very welcoming as per usual which we always appreciate.
We had an ocean front suite which we used doublepoints for but we feel that was a mistake and not worth it. The suite was 2 small rooms, a bit dated and sparse. The heavenly bed was heavenly and we love that. Our view was obstructed both mornings of our 2 day stay but we had read that in the reviews so can't blame the hotel for that.
We splurged on a dinner at Latitudes over on Sunset Key one evening. Well worth every cent. The sunset, setting, food and service are amazing! We rank it one of the highest on our list and we travel frequently.
Overall, a good stay but would forgo booking the oceanfront suite.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our location, staff and Latitudes. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina is located in Old Town Key West right on the waterfront with one of the country’s largest private ports which welcomes cruise ships from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.