We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Truman Hotel to your Saves list
Truman Hotel
611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Danville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Really enjoyed our two night stay here. Very nice room by the pool. Unique idea of serving continental breakfast by the pool. Server very nice and helpful. Man in office also very helpful. We were having problems with our laptop and he was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
All of us here at the Truman Hotel appreciate your post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    174
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
177
273
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

They get it, and get it right. Great location near Duval. Clean well designed and maintained rooms. The pool is great, a real beauty at night. The customer service was excellent. The continental breakfast hit the spot and even the coffee was superior! Best of all was the parking! I hope they keep up the great work, and as long as they do my family and I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff you made our stay so memorable..well done.
Our choice of Hotel in Key West could not of been more perfect as we were first timers to Key West and so having a quiet beautiful oasis of calm to wake up to and arrive back at night was fantastic . The pool area is excellent and meant that we could chill out completely before walking the two blocks to Duvall and all the fun that it has to offer.
The breakfast buffet was also a great bonus and again was more than we needed to start the day.
It's a first rate Hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from the Truman. Great hotel very new and clean. Breakfast was good usual of cereal bagels pastries etc served until 10am but no rush to leave which was nice. Staff were friendly and location was great. Although the pool area is about the average size for Key West there seemed to be plenty of places to sit and relax. Rooms were large and very clean and the bathroom was great! Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Truman was fantastic. The beds were soooo comfortable, shower was amazing after a day of sight-seeing, room was very clean and modern. Pool and loungers were great for relaxing on in afternoon and hotel provides pool towels and free fruit punch.
We stayed in superior room with two queen beds, two wardrobes, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, pool view and really spacious balcony and AC (not sure all the rooms have AC so it's certainly worth upgrading if you can).
Continental breakfast was included, everything you could ask for to start the day - orange juice, tea, coffee, yogurt, cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, pastries and fruit. Hotel also provided free bottle of water every evening (attendant came round the rooms about 7 each night) and couple of complimentary chocolates - if we weren't in the room they would leave by the bed for us.

Hotel is located 5 mins walk from Duval Street, close enough for everything you want to do during day and at night but far enough away to be quiet away from the noise and the crowds. Car parking is available as well.

Would definitely recommend and would stay again next time in Key West.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade do for the AC and extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It is great to know that we are meeting our guests expectations. Thank you for the positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel has a very comforting feel to it. The beds were heavenly. The shower was amazing. Everything was modern and clean. The breakfast was continental (a true Carb fest) but the area and set-up was very quaint by the pool. There is plenty of outdoor space for sitting outside of the room or by the pool. The staff were nice and pleasant. The hotel allows children however, it is a smoking hotel so if you have any issues with smoking this may not be the hotel for you. The elevator was not working while we were there so carrying our luggage up to the 2nd floor was a bit of an inconvenience but problems happen so it's understandable. The hotel had plenty of parking. It is about 1-2 mile walk from all the action so we still had to take taxis when we went out. It was a little too pricey so next time I might try to find a cheaper hotel in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for posting. Our rooms are non-smoking however we do allow smoking by the pool. We are reviewing this policy. We appreciate the great comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I went to the Truman for our honeymoon. It was such a wonderful location, especially for the incredibly reasonable price. The staff was prompt and courteous. We were great with a complimentary bottle of champagne, which was much appreciated. The rooms are immaculate and the staff responds quickly with any request. The pool area was cleaned often and we were impressed with the level of cleanliness. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have a much better view, though they can be louder if party goers decide to contin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Address: 611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.