We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, would recommend......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truman Hotel

Save Saved
You added Truman Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Truman Hotel
611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, would recommend......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have just stayed here for 3 nights on my first visit to Key West. I would recommend this hotel, rooms are quirky (in a good way) and clean and tidy. Very comfortable beds and quaility linens etc. Nice touch with chocolates and water provided each evening as part of the service. The continental breakfast was a good range of food and the staff all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Only slight negitive was the road noise, our room was on the Truman Ave side and it was quite noisey. Didn't cause a problem but worth mentioning. It wouldn't stop me booking here again or recommending and giving it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Would ask if possible to have a room not directly on Truman Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks! We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    138
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
149
230
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ahh, what more good things can be said about the Truman Hotel that haven't been said already. It was just perfect for us. The vibe, pool, location, parking, breakfast at the pool, the brilliant decor inside and out! A jewel in the Key West crown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I originally booked across the street at the Almond Tree Inn. They had some renovation issues and moved us over to the Truman Hotel. Because it was last minute they only had the one bedroom cottage available. We checked in Thursday and checked out Sunday. We had a great time and the hotel was sooo clean. Beautiful relaxing atmosphere, and beautiful pool. The breakfast provided each morning was plenty of food! We rented bikes that we locked up right outside, short 2 min ride to duval street, 10 min ride to Mallory Square. Subway and CVS right across the street. very easy and fast check in and check out. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved our stay at this chic, modern hotel. The location is just perfect - two blocks from the madness that is Duval Street - a bike rental place right next door, and plenty of restaurants all within walking distance. The pool was gorgeous - just the right temperature and irresistible after a hard day's sightseeing.
We had a King room with a great bed and the large two person rain-head shower really felt like value for money.
We'll be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Have no complaints! Rooms were updated with modern decor, beds were comfy, staff was friendly. Only a block or two from duval street, no driving necessary. A little pricey, but worth the price. Would deffinately come back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved this boutique hotel in Key West - in fact this was the best bit about Key West, as we were slightly disappointed with Key West as a whole, more touristy than we were expecting and the beaches were far from great. However the hotel more than made up for it - great decor, very spacious room (we were upgraded to a honeymoon suite, room 303), with two big TVs, huge bathroom area with two big sinks, wet room with rainforest shower and power shower, lovely pool area with free fruit punch, continental buffet breakfast included, and close to the main streets yet very quiet at night. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Being here for 2 nights.
Still surprised it is not categorised as proper hotel on trip advisor (just as B&B) - this is definitely a boutique hotel.
Perfect location, close enough to main amenities but far enough to guarantee you a very quiet and relaxing staying.
It's beautifully furnished - we staying in 303, massive bedroom top floor. It was just the two of us but you could have been a family and still find spare space in the bedroom. It's extremely clean and the bathroom is a plus with giant mirrors and an extremely comfortable shower.
Breakfast is essential and self service - more than enough for us - and you enjoy it around the pool.
Have not tried the pool but took a lot of pictures in the night as it looks lovely.
I would definitely recommend this place and hopefully return one day. Perfect if you are a couple, you want a quiet and classy hotel and you care about your privacy. This is the place you are looking for!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Address: 611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.