We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely come back and stay here again!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Truman Hotel to your Saves list
Truman Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 89 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I would definitely come back and stay here again!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I originally booked across the street at the Almond Tree Inn. They had some renovation issues and moved us over to the Truman Hotel. Because it was last minute they only had the one bedroom cottage available. We checked in Thursday and checked out Sunday. We had a great time and the hotel was sooo clean. Beautiful relaxing atmosphere, and beautiful pool. The breakfast provided each morning was plenty of food! We rented bikes that we locked up right outside, short 2 min ride to duval street, 10 min ride to Mallory Square. Subway and CVS right across the street. very easy and fast check in and check out. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved our stay at this chic, modern hotel. The location is just perfect - two blocks from the madness that is Duval Street - a bike rental place right next door, and plenty of restaurants all within walking distance. The pool was gorgeous - just the right temperature and irresistible after a hard day's sightseeing.
We had a King room with a great bed and the large two person rain-head shower really felt like value for money.
We'll be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Have no complaints! Rooms were updated with modern decor, beds were comfy, staff was friendly. Only a block or two from duval street, no driving necessary. A little pricey, but worth the price. Would deffinately come back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelXpert2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved this boutique hotel in Key West - in fact this was the best bit about Key West, as we were slightly disappointed with Key West as a whole, more touristy than we were expecting and the beaches were far from great. However the hotel more than made up for it - great decor, very spacious room (we were upgraded to a honeymoon suite, room 303), with two big TVs, huge bathroom area with two big sinks, wet room with rainforest shower and power shower, lovely pool area with free fruit punch, continental buffet breakfast included, and close to the main streets yet very quiet at night. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Being here for 2 nights.
Still surprised it is not categorised as proper hotel on trip advisor (just as B&B) - this is definitely a boutique hotel.
Perfect location, close enough to main amenities but far enough to guarantee you a very quiet and relaxing staying.
It's beautifully furnished - we staying in 303, massive bedroom top floor. It was just the two of us but you could have been a family and still find spare space in the bedroom. It's extremely clean and the bathroom is a plus with giant mirrors and an extremely comfortable shower.
Breakfast is essential and self service - more than enough for us - and you enjoy it around the pool.
Have not tried the pool but took a lot of pictures in the night as it looks lovely.
I would definitely recommend this place and hopefully return one day. Perfect if you are a couple, you want a quiet and classy hotel and you care about your privacy. This is the place you are looking for!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SIBI78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights. On arrival, the receptionist was very helpful. The decor of the hotel is different to what you might expect from the rest of Key West. The Truman has opted for a modern style which it does well, without being brash and twee like the other hotels in the area.
The bed was very comfortable, bathroom area large, housekeeping excellent.
We did not use the pool so no comments there.

Included breakfast was v simple, but adequate for what you're paying for.

The hotel staff were very helpful.

In summary, the Truman feels like a higher end hotel , yet modestly priced. Have already recommended to others during our trip. Will definitely return if we come back this way in future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TW-LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I can't say anything negative about this place. We booked it after a lot of research including reading trip advisor reviews.

Truman Hotel is in a great location, with free parking, large well decorated rooms and a fabulous pool area (which is also where the included breakfast is served). Our room was on the ground floor by the pool, which I recommend as it was easy to get in and out of with suitcases and it was close to the pool.

Key West is clearly not a very big place, and this hotel is well located for walking up Duvall Street and is very close to the Hemingway House.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Address: 611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing