We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a cute hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Truman Hotel to your Saves list
Truman Hotel
611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Such a cute hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Have no complaints! Rooms were updated with modern decor, beds were comfy, staff was friendly. Only a block or two from duval street, no driving necessary. A little pricey, but worth the price. Would deffinately come back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    187
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
185
288
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved this boutique hotel in Key West - in fact this was the best bit about Key West, as we were slightly disappointed with Key West as a whole, more touristy than we were expecting and the beaches were far from great. However the hotel more than made up for it - great decor, very spacious room (we were upgraded to a honeymoon suite, room 303), with two big TVs, huge bathroom area with two big sinks, wet room with rainforest shower and power shower, lovely pool area with free fruit punch, continental buffet breakfast included, and close to the main streets yet very quiet at night. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Being here for 2 nights.
Still surprised it is not categorised as proper hotel on trip advisor (just as B&B) - this is definitely a boutique hotel.
Perfect location, close enough to main amenities but far enough to guarantee you a very quiet and relaxing staying.
It's beautifully furnished - we staying in 303, massive bedroom top floor. It was just the two of us but you could have been a family and still find spare space in the bedroom. It's extremely clean and the bathroom is a plus with giant mirrors and an extremely comfortable shower.
Breakfast is essential and self service - more than enough for us - and you enjoy it around the pool.
Have not tried the pool but took a lot of pictures in the night as it looks lovely.
I would definitely recommend this place and hopefully return one day. Perfect if you are a couple, you want a quiet and classy hotel and you care about your privacy. This is the place you are looking for!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights. On arrival, the receptionist was very helpful. The decor of the hotel is different to what you might expect from the rest of Key West. The Truman has opted for a modern style which it does well, without being brash and twee like the other hotels in the area.
The bed was very comfortable, bathroom area large, housekeeping excellent.
We did not use the pool so no comments there.

Included breakfast was v simple, but adequate for what you're paying for.

The hotel staff were very helpful.

In summary, the Truman feels like a higher end hotel , yet modestly priced. Have already recommended to others during our trip. Will definitely return if we come back this way in future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I can't say anything negative about this place. We booked it after a lot of research including reading trip advisor reviews.

Truman Hotel is in a great location, with free parking, large well decorated rooms and a fabulous pool area (which is also where the included breakfast is served). Our room was on the ground floor by the pool, which I recommend as it was easy to get in and out of with suitcases and it was close to the pool.

Key West is clearly not a very big place, and this hotel is well located for walking up Duvall Street and is very close to the Hemingway House.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We Were very pleasantly surprised at how lovely the hotel is and how helpful and friendly everyone was. I say surprised because I kept telling my friend not to go by the pictures because they were probably very old but it looked exactly like
the pictures!
We had a very nice room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and a beautiful bathroom.
Nick the Manager was great and helped us in many ways includinging making suggestions about sites to see.
The breakfasr was terrific and had many choices and was served at the pool.
We would absolutely stay at the Truman if we go back to key West.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 214 which was perfect and gave us privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Second visit in two years brilliant love the place could not say a bad word about it at all
See you again next year
The rooms are amazing and clean the breakfast at the pool area is wonderful the location just off ducal street is perfect

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Repeat guests are our favorites! Thanks for choosing us again. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Address: 611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.