We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truman Hotel

Save Saved
You added Truman Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights. On arrival, the receptionist was very helpful. The decor of the hotel is different to what you might expect from the rest of Key West. The Truman has opted for a modern style which it does well, without being brash and twee like the other hotels in the area.
The bed was very comfortable, bathroom area large, housekeeping excellent.
We did not use the pool so no comments there.

Included breakfast was v simple, but adequate for what you're paying for.

The hotel staff were very helpful.

In summary, the Truman feels like a higher end hotel , yet modestly priced. Have already recommended to others during our trip. Will definitely return if we come back this way in future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    135
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
137
225
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I can't say anything negative about this place. We booked it after a lot of research including reading trip advisor reviews.

Truman Hotel is in a great location, with free parking, large well decorated rooms and a fabulous pool area (which is also where the included breakfast is served). Our room was on the ground floor by the pool, which I recommend as it was easy to get in and out of with suitcases and it was close to the pool.

Key West is clearly not a very big place, and this hotel is well located for walking up Duvall Street and is very close to the Hemingway House.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We Were very pleasantly surprised at how lovely the hotel is and how helpful and friendly everyone was. I say surprised because I kept telling my friend not to go by the pictures because they were probably very old but it looked exactly like
the pictures!
We had a very nice room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and a beautiful bathroom.
Nick the Manager was great and helped us in many ways includinging making suggestions about sites to see.
The breakfasr was terrific and had many choices and was served at the pool.
We would absolutely stay at the Truman if we go back to key West.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 214 which was perfect and gave us privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Second visit in two years brilliant love the place could not say a bad word about it at all
See you again next year
The rooms are amazing and clean the breakfast at the pool area is wonderful the location just off ducal street is perfect

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Repeat guests are our favorites! Thanks for choosing us again. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in kw 1 night and decide to stop at truman hotel.
The guy @ reception is very kind, rooms are cozy and very clean!
Very nice pool in the patio.
Very happy about my choise, there are few historical guest house around and big hotels by the see. But i think this place is really one of the bests!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I loved everything about this hotel!! 'The rooms are gorgeous and the beds are the best ever.
There fans above the bed which is very nice so can choose to put on the aircon. or the fan.

Outside the room there's a terrace and in the middle of the building there's a swimmingpool. At the end of the afternoon guests would gather there and have drinks together. it's a great hotel for people in their middst 20 or 30.

you walk right in the middle of everything that Key west has to offer.....

The hotel was not very cheap, but I thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Room looks exactly as it appears, nicely decorated and very clean.Bathroom was newly redecorated and was beautiful. Beds were comfortable and we appreciated the luxury linen and many pillows. We liked having a refrigerator in our rooms so we could eat whenever we wanted. We were pleasantly surprised when housekeeping knocked on our door in the evening withe bottled water and chocolates!! Had a great time looking at all the action on Duval as we walked to Mallory Square.The location is great as it was quiet and loved having a parking space for the car. Nick, the day manager and night manager( he works all the time) was the nicest person and helped us with whatever we needed throughout our stay. The continental breakfast was perfect and it was nice to eat near the pool or on our private balcony.I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor is perfect as you have privacy ( with private balcony). We stayed in Room 214/ Only thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Address: 611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.