We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Truman Hotel to your Saves list
Truman Hotel
611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Had planned to stay at another hotel, but parents changed their minds almost last minute, and I'm so glad they did. We arrived late in the evening, following a long flight to Miami and subsequent drive down to the keys, but we got a very warm welcome. The staff were very pleasant and friendly throughout our stay, even when having to deal with us locking ourselves out of our rooms!! Rooms were very trendy, very clean, and spacious. Continental breakfast of pastries, fruit, yoghurt and toast, but so much of it. The pool and surrounding area was kept very clean, fresh towels were readily available by the poolside after taking a dip in the sparkling clean, refreshing pool. Sunbed towels were replaced as soon as the beds were vacated. Attention to detail was incredible and I would recommend this hotel for anyone. Close enough to the hub of Key West and yet quiet for when you needed to chill out. I hope to return.

Room Tip: The rooms all overlook the pool area, I don't think anybody would be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    155
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
161
247
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Hands down the best place to stay in Key West! We stayed May 19-21st. A week prior we had to move a group of 10 and I am so pleased we found the Truman. The hotel is modern, clean and friendly. You won't be disappointed. Worth every penny.
When we return, we will only stay at the Truman. Thank you for accomodating our group at the last minute and for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very central, Duval 3mins away, did'nt need the car for anything.Nice refreshing pool when you've been out most of the day. Quiet rooms 107 &108, rooms very spacious, clean .Beds turned down every night with fresh bottles of water & chocs left on the bed,Breakfast fresh juice,coffee,pastries eggs etc. No complaints at all!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a lovely little boutique hotel close to the heart of Key West. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a small suite. The decor and surroundings were well thought out and beautifully decorated. The ambiance of the hotel was wonderfully refined but not over powering allowing you to relax after a day around the Key.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

There isn't much to say about this place other than it is absolutely perfect. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds are comfortable, the staff is friendly. It is the only place I would ever stay when visiting Key West.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Truman was a nice find (thanks to tripadvisor reviewers).

Rooms:
Clean, decent size, modern furniture.

Bathroom:
Clean, no complains

Pool:
Super cool at night especially with those changing lights.

Breakfast:
Decent, usual continental breakfast. nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was so excited to stay at this hotel given a poor experience I had 3 years earlier at the Southernmost Hotel (poor quality for price paid). From that stay, I knew I wanted to stay somewhere that wasn't right on Duval because it'd be noisy.
When I checked in, the guy in the office (never caught his name, but assuming this is Nick, the person everyone else refers to) recognized that in my reservation notes/preferences I said I'd like a quieter room, preferably something not by the pool. We got room 201, which was right above the front office, and more set back from the pool. Because it was in a bit of a nook, we had our own private area of balcony in front, which was nice if we had wanted to read at the little table outside and not have to worry if there were smokers sharing balcony space with us, as is the case for most of the rooms. (FYI, there are a good amount of smokers in Key West, much more than the San Francisco Bay Area, at least, but nothing noticeable if you're coming from Boston, New York, etc.)
The room was very nice- quaint with a modern feel. There's a mini fridge that's completely empty so you can stock it easily with goodies of your preference, there are plastic cups for your own beverages, nice toiletries (Bath & Body Works), and a hair dryer that is super powerful/fast-drying. The exterior and bathrooms are also true to what you see on the hotel website. The shower head lacked pressure, but it was still sufficient. It was lower pressure, in a relaxing, you're on vacation kinda way. The room had central A/C, which could've regulated the temperature a little better, but it was a godsend to have since it can get pretty hot outside. The lighting in the room was a little strange, one main light above the drawers and TV, a few in the bathroom area, and a lamp on each side of the bed. Because there was only one by the TV, doing anything in the middle of the room was kind of dark unless you had all the shades up. Reading in bed was fine though thanks to the bedside lamps. There were slated shades for the windows and drapes, which kept the room nice and dark for sleeping; but the sun did creep in from the sides, which in my case, shined right onto the bed and woke me up a few times. The pillows were on the softer side, but not super squishy. They're all the same variety, too, so what you see is what you get.
While the room was probably quieter than most because it was above the front desk/office and in a corner (only one shared wall), it was attached to the frame of the 1st entry gate and close to the gate to get into the pool and other stair areas where people need to go upstairs to their room locations. As a result, every time a jackhole let the door slam rather than gently close it, we heard a crash and/or vibration noise. Since people go in and out all day long, we heard this all day long. I asked Nick if there was an option to have the louder of the two gates close more gently and he bungy corded the door open the next day, which was really nice. But after that day passed, the door was no longer buggy corded and the problem continued again. It was nice of him to help for that one day at least, but you'd think the hotel would've figured out itself that this was a loud inconvenience. Another thing about my room or any others that were by the front of the hotel/on Truman Ave itself, is that I constantly heard all the passing cars, which included kids honking their scooter horns for fun and the loud mufflers, engines, and radios of all the penis-mobiles and the like (many of these in Key West). Since the route is a main one, also got firetrucks passing by often. So while the pool never seemed too noisy (supposed to be open only during daylight hours, but some people still used the pool later at night), the road and gate were! What probably helped keep things quiet within the hotel is that it has an age minimum, outside of families with kids. You need to at least be 25 to check in because they don't want any Spring break'er's they say.
What really irked me about my experience was that we were woken up by housekeeping twice. We sleep very late and had the do not disturb sign on and one early afternoon got a call and then a knock on the door. I don't care what hour it is, if it says do not disturb, DO NOT disturb! Ever since that happened, I was constantly paranoid the same thing would go on again, and couldn't sleep as well. Our last day there, sure enough, got a knock on the door despite the do not disturb sign being there! When the housekeeping did come, they gave you an option not to have the sheets changed, which I liked for eco-friendliness. However, there was no option for keeping the same towels, which almost seemed to defeat using the sign for the sheets. Also weird was that when we'd come back to the room, the light was always left on (we always turned off when we left) and the A/C was somewhat higher than we left it. So somewhat of a mixed message on the green stuff, but at least they offered the sheets thing and housekeeping always came back for the turn down service to leave you 2 bottles of water and 2 yum chocolates.
Logistically, the hotel had a very good location. There's the Simonton/Truman bus stop for at least the blue, orange, and green lines (check out KWest's cool transit site and live map at http://www.kwtransit.com/). We didn't rent a car, bikes, or scooters, (although there is a bike/scooter rental shop right next door) etc, we walked everywhere. It wasn't far from Duval or other major attractions, but when it's so hot out, you don't feel like walking no matter what. For that reason, mid-trip I wished we were more adjacent to the northern part of Duval street, but if you don't mind the heat, you'll be fine.
Lastly, the wifi was pretty good. You could tell when it was being used by more people because it became impossible to watch videos. But for basic surfing and email, it worked well. A cab to the airport ran $8/person (same for anywhere in Old Town area), but check out the transit system, some bus routes go there too.

Room Tip: Request a room that isn't near road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Address: 611 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.