We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome dolphin experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Dolphin Adventures

Wild Dolphin Adventures
201 Williams St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-296-3737
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 326 Activities in Key West
Type: Tours, Adventure
Activities: Swimming with dolphins
Attraction details
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Awesome dolphin experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Capt John did an amazing job. We had a group of 4 with 1 child who had not been in the ocean before. We found a couple pods of dolphins very quickly and spent a couple hours watching them.best part was a mom and her young baby dolphin.Capt John pulled ahead of the dolphins pretty far and we were able to get in the water with masks and watch them swim underwater and past us. It was brief in the water but perfect for a natural experience. Very very cool to be a part of. he was very knowledgeable about the area, fish during snorkleing, and the dolphins. Much better then one of those large catamarans with 20 people. Recommended by us definitely.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    0
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The dolphins were AMAZING!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We did not want to see dolphins trapped in a big fish tank doing stupid pet tricks, so we looked for a tour that would take us out to where the dolphins are. We booked a private charter with Capt Dave of Wild Dolphin Adventures several months in advance. He provides LOTS of information about what to expect – some of it a bit misleading (more on that in a minute), but most of it VERY helpful. The tour includes approx 1 hour observing dolphins, and 1 hour snorkeling on reefs.
We arrived a bit late, and were met by our Captain for the day, John. He was friendly, helpful, and informative all day long. Hats off to a great Captain! We found a small pod (5 or 6) of dolphins almost immediately. We spent the next hour watching them play and feed mere feet from our boat. What an experience!!! Great photos, fun to watch, and definitely not the captive variety we were looking to avoid. This hour was the highlight of our Keys vacation!!
After the dolphins, we moved to a shallow sandbar just off a reef, and snorkeled for about an hour. The snorkeling was just OK and not very colorful. We were on the Gulf side of Key West, and learned later that the best snorkeling in the Keys is on the Atlantic side. Given our experience, we wished we just skipped the snorkeling, and watched the dolphins for another hour.
The one thing about the dolphin tour that was a bit misleading though, is that there is never an opportunity to swim with them in the wild. I’m not saying if it is good or bad, smart or stupid to swim with the dolphins in the wild BUT Wild Dolphin Adventures says on their web site, in the mailings we received, and even implies with the pictures at the dock (of swimmers with noodles swimming alongside dolphins) that it is a possibility if the conditions are right. However, it was never even addressed on our day with them. We weren’t asked if we were interested (I’m not sure everyone in our group would have been), nor was it even brought up in a “gee, the conditions just aren’t right today” sort of manner. I haven’t read a single recent review of WDA that says there was swimming with the dolphins. So – it feels a bit disingenuous to advertise it if you no longer offer it (for whatever reason).
The price was a bit high we thought relative to other activities we pursued in the Keys.
All that said, the star of this show is clearly the dolphins – and boy did they deliver!!! If for no other reason, I would recommend Wild Dolphin Adventures!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks, NC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We went out on a private charter for a few hours and did the clothing opitional thing. We had a very nice afternoon on the water. These are nice folks to deal with thru the questions and booking. They gave us exactly what we wanted.

I think the Clothing Opitional Private Charters are maybe a little side line, they do Wild Dolphin Tours as the main thing I think.

Depending what your looking for give them a call, we had a great time.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thonon-les-Bains, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We went on that trip on May 4th 2011 and it was just wonderful!

We went with captain John who was very nice and patient ( we went on and off the boat several times, he took us to different spots and did his best to enable us to see dolphins and snorkel close to them ).

He told us so much about the wildlife and even went snorkeling with us on the coral reef, which was great because we would have probably missed the turtles and stingray he showed us!

After a good swim he offered fresh fruit on the way back and this was also very pleasant.

Definitely a great afternoon!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Excursion in Key West! Worth Every Cent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The dolphin adventure was by far the best snorkel/dolphin experience I've ever had. The Captain was extremely professiona and courteous. He didn't rush anyone's experience and let the guests set the pace. Although the waters were too rough to swim with the dolphins, they came right up to the boat and played under and around the boat for at least an hour. It was magic! We snorkled at an island about 20 minutes away from Key West after watching the dolphins. The Captain was so wonderful that when the massive 'Fury' boat came and dropped 30 people in the water right next to us to snorkel, our captian called us back to the boat and took us to a shipwreck where nobody else was, so we could snorkel in privacy. It was absolutely wonderful!!!! Captain gave good information about dolphins and the sea life, and made everyone very comfortable. Worth every cent!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Dolphin Adventures also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Wild Dolphin Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Dolphin Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.