We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but over-priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cafe Key West

Grand Cafe Key West
314 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6510
+1 305-292-4740
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 366 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Steakhouse, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Grand Cafe is situated on world famous Duval Street - After lunch enjoy a relaxing afternoon sipping Mojitos, Caprihinas, Maragaritas or fine wines watching the world go by. In the evening sit indoors or out while tasting our menu of perfectly prepared local seafoods, aged meats and many dishes with global influences., paired with wine from our Wine Spectator Award list.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Okay but over-priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The Grand Cafe provides an ideal,outdoor eating atmosphere. The also have a great wine list. The food was fine but seemed overpriced, and the service was slow. Stop there if you want, but know what you are getting into.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    202
    92
    64
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Recommended by the Tourist Bureau and the hotel but, very average. The fish did not have a fresh smell and the ossobuco was shewee! Our waiter was a bit impatient and expeditive; he just wanted us to order and go on to another table. Washrooms not clean and lacking of papers!
Not worth the money and the taxi ride ($40. return) from the Parrot Resort! The hotel restaurant would have probably been a better bet!??!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg MS
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“very close to five star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Nice spot to relax on the porch and watch the hordes go by on Duval (inside rooms are quite attractive too). We had a very tasty, reasonable Pinot Noir, Lucky Star, and three food items among the three of us: one seared tuna salad that was quite good, though when rare was red rather than purple, which I think says not absolute top of the line, though still way better than average; two tomato bisques with crabmeat, very well seasoned and presented, excellent consistency; and three chilled smoked salmon plates with toast points, capers, onions, and sour cream. This salmon dish was perhaps the best single dish that we had in our 5-day stay: not too salty, perfect taste, "toast points" actually well-toasted baguettes. Finished with best cappucinos we had in town. If nothing else, just stop in here for the salmon plate (think it was $12 for what could be a nice lunch) and a glass of wine or beer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had dinner at Grand & it was fantastic! We shared crab cakes, which were meaty & cooked perfectly. We both ordered the salmon special, which was a lovely salmon filet in a sun dried tomato cream sauce with chunks of lobster. It was delicious!
We sat outside and enjoyed the view of Duval Street. Our server, Dennis, was knowledgable and attentive, very helpful with menu selection.
We will definitely eat here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fira
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner there last night...the meal was gorgeous...perfect scallops and tender fillet, lovely wine recommended by the server. Service was great, and the atmosphere was perfect. A Lovely place to dine together and retreat from the street party for a couple of hours.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cafe Key West also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Grand Cafe Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cafe Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.