We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Tin Roof

Hot Tin Roof
0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
305-296-7701
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hot Tin Roof is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 365 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front Street
Description: Hot Tin Roof features bright vibrant colors indicative of the overall style of the Ocean Key Resort & Spa. The restaurant's 3,000 square feet of dining features indoor seating for 60 and an outdoor deck overlooking Key West Harbor, accommodating up to 40 people. The restaurant's lounge, Stage Door, serves a unique selection of themed signature cocktails and is highlighted with a custom-designed mural by Key West artist Jeff Beal. "It's a melange of tastes and fragrances, combining traditional Florida foods with Latin, Caribbean and tropical influences. It's funky, fun, and fresh with a broad range of tastes and sensations. The restaurant features a relaxed elegance with dramatic water and sunset views.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Highly recommend you order dessert. Everything we ordered was great. Very fresh seafood. Nice atmosphere on the heated patio.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    203
    98
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
“GREAT RESTAURANT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I ate here on my wedding anniversary this year and it was amazing! The service, the food, the view.... NO COMPLAINTS! I even had to wait 25min for a table (even though i had a reservation) but the staff was so friendly that I didn't mind that they were running behind. The food blew me away, the ceviche, the shrimp cocktail, the fish my husband had with sausage in it seemed super strange but once i tried it i was hooked! We had a wonderful bottle of champagne and watched the sunset from the outdoor seating area. I have to say this place is going to become a tradition for us every wedding anniversary!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“View is the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

as far as view ..this place was stellar......food left a little to be desired though....service was great! l.e.d menus and oyster plates have l.e.d lights in them as well! cute ..would go there again but maybe order the cold plates instead of any of the main entrees

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our family of 7 visited this restaurant for dinner....5 of the meals were poor, tough lobster, tasteless steak and odd tasting potatoes. We travel frequently so have enough experience in dining out in many places around the world and for a $600 bill, it should have been a whole lot better. Would not recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived at 5:00PM and were greeted and seated immediately at what the manager claimed to be his favorite table. After watching the sunset from this table, I know why it is his favorite. Wow!
The food and service was excellent and the whole place had a friendliness and vacation vibe to it.
I had the roast chicken and my wife had the snapper. Both were prepared perfectly. While the price of the meal was a little on the high side, the view and ambience made it well worthwhile. We went to Louie's Front Porch two nights later and they can't compare themselves to The Hot Tin Roof. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Tin Roof also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hot Tin Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Tin Roof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.