We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Seaport at Key West Bight

Historic Seaport at Key West Bight
100 Grinnell Street, Key West, FL 33040
305 293 8309
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Attraction details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We only discovered this on our second to last night in the Keys... just wished we'd discovered it earlier! It's a lovely walk along the harbour, very old town, looking at the boats at sunset and visiting a drinking establishment or two!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    57
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very picturesque.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Very nice area. Many tours leaving from here. Nice shopping and a fewgood restaurants as well.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Torch Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Key West Bight an interesting and historical harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The Key West Harbor has been around for a very long time. It used to be full of fishing boats, but is now home and visiting port for many different types of craft from all over the world. The harbor is an interesting area to walk at any time of day or night. Restaurants and bars line the boardwalks along the shore of the harbor and cater to any taste or budget. Often there are events taking place down by the docks. Don't be surprised to see a pirate or two walking the docks beside you.. Public washrooms are conveniently located. In the late afternoon, if you head over to where the charter boats are docked you may get a chance to see the daily catches as they are taken off the boats. Upon closer inspection if you look into the water beside the boats and under the dock, you may catch a glimpse of Tarpon that have been attracted to the area because of the smell of fish. There are vending machines that sell handfulls of fish food that when tossed into the water will give you a chance to see the Tarpon up close and personal. Some of these mighty creatures are over six feet long. While under the docks and boats the Tarpon behave like puppy dogs. But don't let these silver creatures fool you. They are very strong and fierce when caught on the end of a fishing line. These magnificant silver fish are wonderful to see. Make sure you take some time off your busy schedule to take a walk down by the docks. There is so much to see. Everyday is different, but always fun.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“WOnderful place to walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is a place to visit by bike as parking can be a challenge. Wonderful view of the tall ships docked in the seaport.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Always a good experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Historic Seaport has undergone a lot of renovation in the past 10 years. It still manages to retain its quirky seaport feel, which we love. Recently the entire boardwalk was redone in teak. It looks fantastis and should weather much better than PT wood.
During the Christmas holidays they decorated the bight and it was wonderful - nautical, funky, and Christmasy. Several of our favorite watering holes are in that area so we visit often (when there aren't any cruise ships in town). I just wish there was a cheap place to park nearby. We used to ride our bikes downtown, but that was before some dirtbag stole mine. If you rent bikes here, be sure to always lock them up. At least it will slow the thieves down a bit. Anyway, if you come to Key West, be sure to visit the historic seaport. It is a bit of what Key West used to be in the 70's. Please don't judge us by Duval St. I don't even take guests there anymore. It is trashy and cheap in a very expensive kind of way.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Seaport at Key West Bight also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Historic Seaport at Key West Bight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Seaport at Key West Bight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.